The Indianapolis Colts are proud to announce the fourth annual High School Academic All-Star Team, an awards program that identifies the top 24 high school academic all-stars in the State of Indiana.

            In conjunction with the Indiana High School Athletic Association and the Indiana Football Coaches Association, the Colts will cite 24 outstanding student-athletes on November 30 and December 1 with an award called the 2002 Indiana High School Academic All-Stars.  The citation corresponds with Colts-Houston Texans game and the state high school championship games taking place in the RCA Dome in Indianapolis that weekend.

            The Colts, the IHSAA and the IFCA worked together to identify the top student-athletes at each position.  The IFCA polled high school head coaches around the state, and the coaches tabbed approximately 125 players who ranked in the top ten percent of their respective classes.  The IFCA selection committee narrowed the list to 24 winners, and those chosen truly represent the spirit of the award.  Eighteen of the 24 honorees are either class valedictorian or salutatorian. All of the 10 high school regions throughout the State of Indiana have an award-winner, and each of the state’s five classes is represented on the all-star team.

            The 24 2002 Indiana High School Academic All-Stars will be honored initially on Saturday, November 30 at 3:00 p.m. in a press conference in the ATA South Lounge at RCA Dome.  The 24 student-athletes will be presented at halftime of the Colts-Texans game on December 1 (kickoff is 4:05 p.m. ET).

            “On behalf of Jim Irsay and the Irsay family, and with deep appreciation for the IHSAA and IFCA, the Colts are pleased to honor 24 outstanding football players who represent their families and schools in an outstanding manner,” said Colts President Bill Polian.  “The dedication it takes to be an excellent achiever in the classroom and on the playing field is something that goes unnoticed too often.  This award honors those young men who carry themselves with dignity, integrity and a sense of purpose.  They, like many other students, possess the values cherished in young adults.  We are pleased to honor these individuals, and it will be an honor to have them on our playing field this Sunday.”

            “On behalf of the IFCA, this is a great opportunity to honor another group of outstanding high school student-athletes around the State of Indiana.  This is what the IFCA is all about, and we thank the coaches and parents who helped shape the lives of these young men,” said Mark A. Miller, athletic director and head football coach at Rochester High School and past IFCA president.  “Everyone I have talked with about this program is excited about the Indianapolis Colts’ participation with high schools.  We look forward to this being a long-lasting mutual relationship.”



2002 Indiana High School Academic All-Stars




                                                Pos.        Name                           High School

                                    WR         Kyle Gilbert                  Norwell                                

                                    WR         Matt Zore                     Indianapolis Cathedral            

                                    TE           Andrew Embry             Alexandria                            

                                    OL          Nick Schraut                 Harrison                               

                                    OL          Bryan Cornelius            East Central              

                                    OL          Blake Hartz                  Lakeland                               

                                    OL          Richard Bauchle            Whiteland                             

                                    OL          Christopher Hamlyn       Lapel                                    

                                    QB          Clayton Richard            McCutcheon             

                                    RB          Cody Porter                  North Vermillion                    

                                    RB          Michael Durrett             Indianapolis Northwest                      

                                    PK          Ben Irwin                     Eastbrook                                     




                                                Pos.        Name                           High School

                                                DL          Kyle Oser                     Jasper                                   

                                    DL          Phillip Watkins              Bloomington South                 

                                    DL          Tyler Warner                Roncalli                                

                                    DL          Wyatt Roth                   Winamac                              

                                    LB          Justin Colanese             New Prairie

                                    LB          Jacob McDaniel            Charlestown              

                                    LB          Alex Sandroni               Penn                         

                                    LB          Morgan Labhart            Perry Central                        

                                    DB          Jon Hassler                   South Putnam                        

                                    DB          Chris Sprehe                 Crown Point              

                                    DB          Matt Yuknis                  Highland                               

                                    P             Carl Gioia                     Valparaiso