Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc.

9150 North Meridian Street, Box 40650, Indianapolis, Indiana 46240-0650

Phone: 317-846-6601    Fax: 317-575-4244    Website:

Blake Ress, Commissioner


February 23, 2008



Chesterton swimmers set two state meet records in winning three individual events and two relays and captured the team title in the 71st annual IHSAA Boys Swimming & Diving State Finals at the Indiana University Natatorium in Indianapolis.


The Trojans accumulated 271 points to edge defending state champion Hamilton Southeastern with 266. North Central of Indianapolis (232) was third, Carmel (188) was fourth and Homestead (154) rounded out the top five teams. The five-point difference between the top two teams was the closest margin of victory since Anderson topped Bloomington South by one point in 1989.


It was the first swimming and diving state title in school history and Chesterton becomes the first northwest Indiana school to take home the championship since Lake Central in 1987. It was the fifth state title overall for the school which has three girls gymnastics (1993, 2000, 2002) and one wrestling (1989) crown to its credit.


The Trojans’ 200 medley relay team of Adam Thieling, Albert Miller, Kyle Whitaker and Tyler Fozkos picked up right where it left off during prelims. After turning in a state meet record performance on Friday evening in 1:32.20, the same foursome lowered the mark again on Saturday with a time of 1:32.05. The previous record in the event had been held by North Central of Indianapolis in 1:32.95 set in 2006.


Whitaker, a sophomore who will participate in the US Olympic Trials later this year, won the 200 individual medley and the 100 butterfly for the second straight year setting a state meet record in the former with a time of 1:46.75. His performance bettered the 1:46.90 put up by Jason Lancaster of Carmel in 1994. It was the oldest individual record on the books. He went on to clock a 48.44 in the butterfly and now totals six blue ribbon medals through his first two prep years.


Trailing Hamilton Southeastern, 153-148, in the team standings through seven events, junior William Bass vaulted Chesterton into the lead with a win in the 500 freestyle. HSE did not have anyone entered in either championship or consolation final to score points. Bass and North Central’s Brandon Siemasko battled through the distance event and were nearly even with 50 yards to go. Bass used a big push off the final flip turn, however, to gain the lead and touched in 4:32.64, .75 ahead of Siemasko. Chesterton would never relinquish the top spot again.


Fozkos, Thieling, Bass and Gregory Franzen teamed up to win the 200 freestyle relay while Hamilton Southeastern won the 400 free relay in 3:04.12 with Matthew Kruse, Nathan Kinney, Austin Mudd and Cameron Owen. Chesterton took second to seal the team title.


One other state meet record was set during the afternoon as Penn senior Andrew Elliot turned in a 48.99 in the 100 backstroke, bettering the previous mark of 49.12 set in 2004 by Benedict Hesen of Jeffersonville.


Westfield senior Ben Wachtel matched Whitaker with two individual championships winning the 100 (45.82) and 200 (1:39.25) freestyles for the second straight year.


The 50 yard sprint was won by Wheeler senior Victor Sikorski in a time of 20.89. He became the first swimmer in his school’s history to win a state championship. Senior Jimmy Page became Crown Point’s first state champion diver winning the one meter event with 510.20 points for his 11 dives. And Lake Central junior Chris Johnson won the 100 breaststroke in 56.56.


71st Annual IHSAA Boys Swimming & Diving State Finals

Feb. 22-23, 2008

Indiana University Natatorium, IUPUI, Indianapolis


Top 10 Teams





Hamilton Southeastern



North Central (Indianapolis)












Lake Central



East Central






Crown Point



State Champions

200 Medley Relay – Chesterton (Adam Thieling 12, Albert Miller 12, Kyle Whitaker 10, Tyler Fozkos 9) 1:32.05. State Meet Record

200 Freestyle – Ben Wachtel, 12, Westfield, 1:39.25.

200 Individual Medley Kyle Whitaker, 10, Chesterton, 1:46.75. State Meet Record

50 Freestyle – Victor Sikorski, 12, Wheeler, 20.89.

One Meter Diving – Jimmy Page, 12, Crown Point, 510.20.

100 Butterfly Kyle Whitaker, 10, Chesterton, 48.44.

100 Freestyle – Ben Wachtel, 12, Westfield, 45.82.

500 Freestyle – William Bass, 11, Chesterton, 4:32.64.

200 Freestyle Relay – Chesterton (Tyler Fozkos 9, Adam Thieling 12, Gregory Franzen 12, William Bass 11) 1:24.89.

100 Backstroke Andrew Elliot, 12, Penn, 48.99. State Meet Record

100 Breaststroke Chris Johnson, 11, Lake Central, 56.56.

400 Freestyle Relay – Hamilton Southeastern (Matthew Kruse 12, Nathan Kinney 10, Austin Mudd 12, Cameron Owen 12) 3:04.12.




Following the meet, members of the IHSAA Executive Committee awarded the Herman F. Keller Mental Attitude Award to Kyle House of East Central High School.


The recipient of this award, who is nominated by his principal and coach, is selected for demonstrating excellence in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in swimming and diving.


House was the 2007 state champion in the 50 freestyle and finished as the runner-up in Saturday’s competition. He was a top eight finalist all four years of his high school career.


He was selected a team captain by his teammates the last three seasons, is a United States Swimming Scholastic All-American the last two years and a member of the National Honor Society and Senior Scholarship Committee.


Ranking first in his class of 325 students, House intends to enroll at Purdue University in the fall and study Communications and Broadcasting, in particular.


He is the son of Susan and Ray House of Lawrenceburg and becomes the first East Central student-athlete to win a state mental attitude award.


Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, the IHSAA’s proud corporate partner, presented East Central High School with a $1,000 scholarship in the name of House that goes to the school’s general scholarship fund.


The award, renamed in 1974, honors former IHSAA assistant commissioner Herman F. Keller, who served the association from 1961-73.




Visit our friends at Visual Sports Network, the IHSAA’s official photographer for all state championship events and one of the leading action photographers in the Midwest. VSN, which was on site both Friday and Saturday, has captured hundreds of images from this year’s State Finals and will have them ready for viewing and purchase beginning Monday.



For t-shirts and other merchandise commemorating this year’s tournament or for any of our events, visit our friends at Morris, Inc.



Couldn’t be there for the state finals? You can still purchase a copy of the official souvenir program while supplies last! Programs are $3.00 if you purchase in person at the IHSAA Office (9150 N. Meridian Street in Indianapolis) or $5.00 by mail (postage included). To order, have your Visa or MasterCard ready and call us at 317-846-6601 during business hours (Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-4 p.m. EST).