THE AWARDS

All selected C. Eugene Cato Memorial Scholarship Award recipients will be honored on April 29, 2010, at the Indiana Roof Ballroom in downtown Indianapolis as a part of the Methodist Sports Medicine Annual Thomas A. Brady Achievement Awards Banquet.

All scholarship money will be paid directly to the student. Scholarship winners must be enrolled at the institution by October 1, 2010, to receive the award.

EUGENE CATO AND THE IHSAA

The Centennial Scholarship program was initiated in 2003-04 as a part of the IHSAA's centennial celebration.

This year, the annual scholarship awards program has been renamed in tribute to former IHSAA Commissioner C. Eugene Cato. "Gene" served as Assistant Commissioner of the Association from 1976 until he became the Commissioner of the IHSAA in 1983 - providing leadership until he retired in 1995.

His passion for athletics and his belief in the intrinsic value of athletic competition on the formation of a child's character enabled Gene to positively impact generations of young men and women with his well-known "Firm, Fair, and Friendly" approach to caring for others.

Gene passed away in October of 2008.













C. EUGENE CATO MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS 2009-10



\$2,500 SCHOLARSHIPS FOR INDIANA STUDENT-ATHLETES

MADE POSSIBLE BY
METHODIST SPORTS MEDICINE
INDIANAPOLIS COLTS
TACO BELL
SPORT GRAPHICS, INC
COMCAST./BRIGHTHOUSE NETWORKS

THE C. EUGENE CATO MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS



Currently in Indiana, more than 160,000 students from 411 different IHSAA member schools participate in high school athletics. The Indiana High School Athletic Association believes that the athletic arena is merely an extension of the classroom, and the lessons

learned through participation will have a dramatic impact on today's youth as they prepare to become the leaders of tomorrow.

In an effort to reward the efforts of Indiana's complete student-athletes, the IHSAA, Methodist Sports Medicine, the Indianapolis Colts, Taco Bell, Sport Graphics, Inc. and Comcast/Brighthouse Networks have partnered in sponsoring the C. Eugene Cato Memorial Scholarship Awards. Each year, a minimum of 12 seniors are chosen from applicants throughout the state to receive a \$2,500 scholarship for their high school accomplishments. These recipients are Indiana's brightest stars and they embody everything that is right about high school sports. These well-rounded, positive role models have demonstrated excellence in academics, school and community involvement, character, sportsmanship and citizenship.

SCHOLARSHIP CRITERIA

- During the 2009-10 school year, the student must be enrolled and participating in interscholastic athletics at an IHSAA member school.
- The student must be a senior at the IHSAA member school who will graduate during the school year in which the award is being applied for.
- The student must have won a varsity letter as an athlete in at least one of the 20 IHSAA-sanctioned athletic programs.
- The student must be nominated by the principal.
- The student must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or the equivalent.
- The student must have no violations of his/her school's athletic code of conduct.

- The student must not have been ejected from any IHSAA contest due to unsportsmanlike behavior.
- The student must verify that he/she has made a commitment to remain substance-free throughout high school.

SCHOOL SELECTION PROCESS

Applications for the C. Eugene Cato Memorial Scholarship Awards are available through the principal's office and on the IHSAA website (www.ihsaa. org). Student-athletes shall submit their application to their member school principal. The member school is responsible for establishing the process by which its nominee is selected. A member school principal may nominate only one student-athlete per year and should forward the application to the IHSAA by January 8, 2010. The IHSAA mailing address is: PO Box 40650, Indianapolis, IN 46240-0650.

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

- A valid application consists of the following:
 - a) Application Form
 - b) Transcript
 - c) One 2" x 3" color photograph of the applicant
- Applications shall be forwarded by the member school principal to the IHSAA. Incomplete individual applications will not be recognized, nor will they be judged.
- Each school is responsible for utilizing a delivery method that ensures that its application arrives on time. The IHSAA is not responsible for delays caused by a school's choice of delivery service.
- All applications must be received in the IHSAA office by January 8, 2010.
- The applications will initially be reviewed by a screening committee of principals and athletic directors from IHSAA member schools in February.
- A blue-ribbon panel consisting of principals, business leaders, etc., will make the final determination of the scholarship award winners.
- Scholarship recipients will be announced on or about April 15, 2010.

The deadline for member schools to submit applications to the IHSAA for the 2009-10 school year is January 8, 2010.