November 24, 2017

Memorial Tops Brebeuf for First Football Championship
Evansville Memorial quarterback Michael Lindauer passed for two touchdowns and ran for another as the third-ranked Tigers took a 29-17 decision from No. 8 Brebeuf Jesuit in the IHSAA Class 3A state championship game at Lucas Oil Stadium.

It was Memorial's first football state championship in its third appearance in the final game and also marked the school's third state title this fall joining the boys and girls soccer teams which swept their respective Class 2A championships on Oct. 28.

Lindauer finished the game 19-for-33 for 189 yards and ran for another 61 including a 13 yard scramble eluding the Brebeuf pass rush to give the Tigers a 14-7 lead at 2:35 left before halftime.

Evansville Memorial (14-1) struck first as Lindauer hit Cole Foster on 4 yard pass at the 4:38 mark of the first quarter and Lindauer later connected with Branson Combs on an 11 yard pass play with 3:28 left in the third quarter. The ensuing PAT was blocked as the Tigers held a 23-14 lead at the time.

The Tigers put the game out of reach on Kenyon Ervin's 24 yard carry to make it 29-17 with 2:10 left in the game. Ervin finished with a game-high 102 yards on 19 carries.

The Braves were led by quarterback Derrick Ozubu who completed 19 of 28 passes for 292 yards but was intercepted three times. Gabe Wright and Jacob Pressler led all receivers with 124 and 103 yards, respectively.

Wright caught Brebeuf's first TD, a 45 yarder from Ozobu tying the game at 7-7.

After a third quarter 20 yard field goal by Matt Clark extended the Memorial lead to 17-7, Brebeuf Jesuit answered on the ensuing play with a 77 yard kickoff return by Miles McIlwain who was handed the ball after Daniel Ingram picked up a squib kick cutting the deficit back to 17-14.

Brebeuf players also set three Class 3A state finals records during a third quarter drive. Jacob Pressler caught an Ozubu pass and took it 90 yards for the longest reception and longest play from scrimmage. A 44 yard field goal by Alec Bevelhimer just snuck over the cross bar to cut the lead to 23-17 which tied another 3A record.

Tenth-year Memorial coach John Hurley was the championship coach after settling for runner-up finishes in 2008 and 2009. Mic Roessler is the fifth year Brebeuf leader and guided the Braves to their second runner-up finish in five seasons.

Class 3A State Championship Records


Fewest Rushing Yards Allowed
3A: 12 by Evansville Memorial vs. Brebeuf Jesuit, 2017.


Longest Field Goal (Tie)
3A: 44 by Alec Bevelhimer, Brebeuf Jesuit vs. Evansville Memorial, 2017.

Longest Pass Completion
3A: 90 by Derrick Ozobu to Jacob Pressler, Brebeuf Jesuit vs. Evansville Memorial, 2017.

Most Receptions (Tie)
3A: 9 by Branson Combs, Evansville Memorial vs. Brebeuf Jesuit, 2017.

Longest Play from Scrimmage
3A: 90 pass, Derrick Ozobu to to Jacob Pressler, Brebeuf Jesuit vs. Evansville Memorial, 2017.

Brebeuf’s Dillon Howell selected as Ress Mental Attitude Award recipient
At the conclusion of the state championship game, the IHSAA Executive Committee named Dillon Howell of Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School as the winner of the Blake Ress Mental Attitude Award in Class 3A football.

The linebacker’s 94 tackles, including a team-leading 13 TFLs, and three interceptions heading into Friday’s game with Evansville Memorial has helped lead Brebeuf to the State Championship game for the first time since 2013 and second time overall.  Howell has also competed in lacrosse, ice hockey and track and field during his high school career. Dillon also excels in the classroom, where he ranks No. 11 in a class of 220 students while participating in many extracurricular activities including the Student Athlete Leadership Team, Student Council, Lifting Club and Entrepreneurship Club. In addition, Howell is active in the community, where he has been an Honor Cadet at Sea Cadets Recruit Training and volunteered time with Special Olympics Indiana Eunice Kennedy Shriver Games and IPS 96 elementary school.

Dillon is the son of Mark and Susan Howell of Carmel, IN.  He has been accepted into the United States Naval Academy and will pursue a degree in Systems Engineering upon graduating from Brebeuf.

Each year the IHSAA Executive Committee selects a senior player who was nominated by his principal and coach and was determined to have best demonstrated mental attitude, scholarship, leadership, and athletic ability. The award is named in honor of the IHSAA’s seventh commissioner from 2000-11.

The Indianapolis Colts presented a $1,000 scholarship to Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School in the name of Dillon Howell. The Colts have been the presenting sponsor of the entire football state tournament since 2009 and are sponsoring the Blake Ress Mental Attitude Award.