Nov. 2, 2013

Crown Point Claims Second State Title in Three Years 
In a battle of unbeaten teams, No. 4 ranked Crown Point used the overtime period to the full extent, netting two goals in extra time to defeat the second-ranked Avon, 3-1. The Bulldogs' performance was good for the school's second soccer state title in three years winning the 2011 title on penalty kicks.

Crown Point senior forward Bay Kurtz got the Bulldogs on top early with his team-best 19th goal of the season during the 27th minute.  Avon answered as time ran down in the first half, thanks to a strike by junior midfielder Taylor Kleyn, his second of the year.

After a scoreless second half, senior midfielder Nate Brower put the Bulldogs up 2-1 on an unassisted goal in the 83rd minute. Shortly thereafter freshman midfielder Brad Kurtz buried the ball in the upper right corner for a two-goal advantage and Crown Point made the lead hold up for the remainder of the overtime session.

The champion Bulldogs were led by second-year head coach Mike Bazin and finished the season undefeated at 21-0-1. They become just the fourth school with at least two state champinships in boys soccer joining Fort Wayne Canterbury (5), North Central (5) and Evansville Memorial (2).

Avon coach Phil Schmidt led the Orioles to their first state finals appearance, concluding the season at 22-1-1.

Jonathan Kopp of Avon Wins Boys 2A Mental Attitude Award
Jonathan Kopp of Avon High School was named winner of the 2013 Mental Attitude Award for Class 2A Boys Soccer by members of the IHSAA Executive Committee.

A three-year letter winner for the Orioles, Jonathan was named to the 2013 Hoosier Crossroads Conference First Team and was selected to the Academic All-State teams in 2012 and 2013.  Jonathan is a member of the Student Athletic Council and National Honor Society.

The Oriole captain is the son of Bruce and Paula Kopp of Avon. 

The IHSAA Executive Committee presented a scholarship check for $1,000 to Avon High School in the name of Jonathan Kopp.  Since 1989, more than $800,000 in college scholarships has been presented to deserving high school students in Indiana.