February 22, 2014

Hanover Central's Micic Wins Third Wrestling Title, Indianapolis Cathedral Captures First Team Crown
With one state champion and two runner-up finishes, Indianapolis Cathedral carried home its first state championship while Hanover Central's Stevan Micic ended a memorable career with his third crown.

Senior Wesley Bernard delivered the Cathedral title in the evening's last bout with his 5-2 decision over Ben Davis' Norman Oglesby in the 285 pound class. Bernard completed a perfect 49-0 season.

Cathedral senior Vinny Corsaro and sophomore teammate Blake Rypel also made championship match appearances but both came up short in their respective bids. Corsaro finished as a runner-up for the third straight season falling to Yorktown's Rhett Hiestand in the 160 pound final while Rypel lost 9-8 in the 182 class to Edgewood's Damian Chambers.

Cathedral outdistanced runner-up Franklin Community by a 73-60 margin. It was Franklin Community's best finish in school history. Yorktown placed third with 55 points, three-time defending champ Perry Meridian ended fourth with 51.5 and New Palestine rounded out the top five with 50.

The Irish, coached by Sean McGinley, entered the weekend with seven qualifiers.

For Hanover Central's Micic, he became the 34th wrestler in state history with three or more titles with his 10-5 decision over Penn's Zachary Davis at 126. Micic (42-0) had won at 106 in 2012 and 113 last year.

Franklin Community and Warren Central each celebrated with a pair of state champions.

Grizzly Cubs D.J. Smith and Jacob Stevenson won the 113 and 170 pound class, respectively with Deondre Wilson and Katrell Moss besting the fields at 132 and 195. It was Wilson's second consecutive title having won the 120 championship a year ago.

Three others also added a second state championship to their collection.

Chad Red of New Palestine took home the 120 title after winning 106 in 2013. Lake Central's Gelen Robinson defended his 220 pound championship of a year ago in a rematch with Kokomo's Fletcher Miller. And Cody LeCount of Perry Meridian, last year's 132 champ, won the 145 final in a head-to-head match with Mishawaka's Tommy Forte, last year's winner at 138.

The two-day, three-session attendance at Bankers Life Fieldhouse was 29,807.

The 76th Annual IHSAA Individual Wrestling State Finals
Feb. 21-22, 2014
Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Indianapolis

Top 10 Teams  
1. Indianapolis Cathedral 73
2. Franklin Community 60
3. Yorktown 55
4. Perry Meridian 51.5
5. New Palestine 50
6. Penn 44
7. Warren Central 42
8. Merrillville 40
9. Lake Central 34
10. East Noble 32

State Championship Match Results

106: Jeremiah Reitz (9) Griffith (45-1) def. Paul Konrath (9) Mt. Vernon (48-3), SV-1 4-2.
113: D.J. Smith (12) Franklin Community (39-1) def. Garrett Pepple (11) East Noble (41-2), Dec. 5-3.
120: Chad Red (10) New Palestine (44-0) def. Forrest Glogouski (12) Fairfield (44-3), Dec 6-2.
126: Stevan Micic (12) Hanover Central (42-0) def. Zachary Davis (12) Penn (41-4), Dec 10-5.
132: Deondre Wilson (12) Warren Central (39-0) def. Brandon James (11) Perry Meridian (41-4) Dec 4-2.
138: Tommy Cash (11) Lawrence North (47-1) def. Jacob Covaciu (10) Merrillville (45-5) Dec 5-3.
145: Cody LeCount (12) Perry Meridian (44-0) def. Tommy Forte (11) Mishawaka (26-2) Dec 3-2.
152: Brendon Kelley (12) Evansville Central (50-0) def. Darden Schurg (11) Crown Point (37-3) Fall 2:24.
160: Rhett Hiestand (12) Yorktown (47-2) def. Vinny Corsaro (12) Indianapolis Cathedral (48-1) UTB 2-1.
170: Jacob Stevenson (11) Franklin Community (40-1) def. Chase Osborn (11) Penn (40-2) Dec 7-3.
182: Damien Chambers (12) Edgewood (44-1) def. Blake Rypel (10) Indianapolis Cathedral (47-2) SV-1 9-8.
195: Katrell Moss (12) Warren Central (31-2) def. Brian Wagner (12) New Palestine (41-5) Dec 3-2.
220: Gelen Robinson (12) Lake Central (52-0) def. Fletcher Miller (12) Kokomo (56-2) Dec 9-3.
285: Wesley Bernard (12) Indianapolis Cathedral (49-0) def. Norman Oglesby (11) Ben Davis (43-2) Dec 5-2.


Skyler Lykins wins Ward E. Brown Mental Attitude Award
Skyler Lykins of Franklin Community High School was named winner of the 2014 Ward E. Brown Mental Attitude Award by members of the IHSAA Executive Committee.

Academically, Lykins ranks in the top 5% of his senior class with a grade point average above 4.0. He is one of 10 students serving on the Principal’s Leadership Council, is a member of the National Honor Society and Spanish Honor Society. He is also very involved in his church and the Boy Scouts, having earned the rank of Eagle Scout.

Lykins finished sixth in the 138 pound weight class this weekend after qualifying for this third wrestling state finals. He is on pace to earn 11 varsity letters in cross country, wrestling and track.

He is the son of Matthew and Mary Jo Lykins of Franklin and will attend the Colorado School of Mines.

The award is named in honor of the IHSAA’s fourth commissioner (1976-1983) in 1985. Recipients of the award must be nominated by their principal and coach and must excel in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in the sport.

The IHSAA Executive Committee presented a scholarship check for $1,000 to Franklin Community High School in the name of Skyler Lykins. Since 1989, more than $800,000 in college scholarships have been presented to deserving high school students in Indiana.