February 18, 2017

Three Wrestlers Become Back-to-Back State Champs, Brownsburg Wins Team Title
Lawrenceburg's Mason Parris, Evansville Mater Dei's Joe Lee, and Brownsburg's Brayton Lee joined an elite group of becoming two-time state champions during 79th Annual IHSAA Wrestling State Finals at Banker Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

Coming out victorious and ending his season undefeated (53-0), Mason Parris, Lawrenceburg, became a state champion for the second year in a row defeating undefeated Corbin Maddox, Daleville, to a fall. Dominating his match in the 152 pound weight class, Joe Lee, Evansville Mater Dei, also became a two-time champ, ending his season undefeated. The third wrestler to become a two-time winner and also going undefeated this season, Brayton Lee, Brownsburg, dominated in the final, winning in a major decision.

For Brownsburg, it is the school's first state title in wrestling. The Bulldogs were led by coach Darrick Snyder who won his third state title and became the second coach in state history to win at two different schools having led Mishawaka to the 2008 and 2010 crowns. Brownsburg had eight participants that qualified for the state finals and three that made it to the state championship round.

Brownsburg finished with 100 points to beat out runner-up Chesterton. Indianapolis Cathedral placed third with 67.5 points, Yorktown ended fourth with 67 and Portage was fifth at 54. Defending state champion Warren Central did not place in the top 10. Of the 14 weight class matched, there were 13 different schools with a wrestler that claimed a state championship. Yorktown is the only school with multiple winners during the 2017 State Finals, Brayden Curtis and Brad Laughlin.

Roncalli's Alec Viduya is the only freshman winner of the 79th State Finals. Cayden Rooks, Columbus East, won in the 120 pound class. Alec White, New Palestine, took home the title in the 126 pound class. Cathedral's Breyden Bailey won in the 132 pound class. Brendan Black, Hobart, and Eli Stock, Monrovia, each won state titles in their respective weight classes.

Andrew Davison, Chesterton, and Evan Ellis, Eastern (Greentown), both ended their high school careers undefeated and state champs.

A crowd of 12,456 witnessed Saturday night's championship matches for a weekend total of 33,844, a new three-session attendance record.

The 79th Annual IHSAA Individual Wrestling State Finals
Feb. 17-18, 2017
Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Indianapolis

Top 10 Teams  
1. Brownsburg 100
2. Chesterton 80
3. Indianapolis Cathedral 67.5
4. Yorktown 67
5. Portage 54
6. Hobart 49
7. Columbus East 47
8. Monrovia 42
9. Evansville Mater Dei 40.5
10. Perry Meridian 40

State Championship Match Results
106: Brayden Curtis (10) Yorktown (43-0) def. Andrew Black (10) Shenandoah (46-3), Decision, 4-3.
113: Alec Viduya (9) Roncalli (47-2) def. Hunter Watts (10) Jimtown (48-3), Decision, 7-4.
120: Cayden Rooks (10) Columbus East (46-1) def. Ty Mills (11) Brownsburg (37-3), Decision, 5-4.
126: Alec White (12) New Palestine (39-1) def. Blake Mulkey (11) Brownsburg (38-2), Fall, 3:32.
132: Breyden Bailey (12) Indianapolis Cathedral (42-1) def. Christian Hunt (11) Yorktown (42-3), Fall, 1:33.
138: Brendan Black (12) Hobart (30-1) def. Kris Rumph (11) Portage (36-5), Major Decision, 10-2.
145: Brayton Lee (11) Brownsburg (46-0) def. Jason Crary (12) Munster (38-4), Major Decision, 14-6.
152: Joe Lee (11) Evansville Mater Dei (36-0) def. Noah Warren (11) Perry Meridian (45-2), Major Decision, 19-5.
160: Brad Laughlin (12) Yorktown (46-1) def. Diego Lemley (11) Chesterton (27-3), Major Decision, 11-3.
170: Eli Stock (12) Monrovia (41-2) def. Tanner Webster (12) North Montgomery (49-2), Fall, 5:37.
182: Jacob Gray (12) Delta (42-2) def. Lucas Davison (11) Chesterton (41-1), Decision, 3-1.
195: Andrew Davison (12) Chesterton (42-0) def. Tristen Tonte (12) Warren Central (39-2), Fall, 5:59.
220: Mason Parris (11) Lawrenceburg (53-0) def. Corbin Maddox (12) Daleville (50-1), Fall, 2:46.
285: Evan Ellis (12) Eastern (Greentown) (46-0) def. Isaiah McWilliams (11) South Bend Washington (49-1), Decision, 5-0.


Gunnar Larson Wins Ward E. Brown Mental Attitude Award
Gunnar Larson of Avon High School was named winner of the 2017 Ward E. Brown Mental Attitude Award by members of the IHSAA Executive Committee.

Larson is a four-time state qualifier and was runner-up at the state finals as a junior. He is a four-time Varsity letterman in wrestling at 220 lbs. each season. A three-time captain, as well as two-time First Team Academic All-State. Larson’s 151 wins is the most in school history and also holds the record for most takedowns in school history. Larson also participated in football, furthermore he was a varsity starting defensive player for three years.

The senior is a two-year National Honor Society Member and is an Indiana Honor Flight volunteer, in which Larson has been serving meals and assisting Veterans prior to their departures to see their Memorial in Washington D.C. for three years. He also volunteers at the I.U. Health Cancer Survivor Family Fun Day, where he organized a game event in 2016.

He is the son of Todd and Daphne Larson of Avon. Larson will be attending West Point, where he intends to study Chemical Engineering.

The award is named in honor of the IHSAA’s fourth commissioner (1976-1983) in 1985. Recipients of the award must be nominated by their principal and coach and must excel in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in the sport.

The IHSAA Executive Committee presented a scholarship check for $1,000 to Avon High School in the name of Gunnar Larson. Since 1989, more than $840,000 in college scholarships have been presented to deserving high school students in Indiana.