Indiana High School Athletic Association

9150 North Meridian Street, Box 40650, Indianapolis, Indiana 46240-0650

Phone: 317-846-6601    Fax: 317-575-4244    Website:

Blake Ress, Commissioner


June 6, 2009





Lawrence North claimed its first girls track and field state championship in the 36th Annual IHSAA State Finals at the Robert C. Haugh Track and Field Complex in Bloomington, Indiana.  Lawrence North compiled 51 points, just six more than the three-time defending state champions and second place finisher, Warren Central. 


The Warriors held a slim four point lead over Lawrence North leading into the final event, but without a team competing in the 1600 meter relay, Warren Central left the door wide open.  The Wildcats, needing to finish the evening’s final event with a sixth place finish or better, won the relay and sealed the first state championship by a girls team in school history.  Lawrence North senior Stacia Weatherford anchored the 1600 relay team of sophomore Antonia Franklin, sophomore Ashley Spencer, and junior Ahlivia Spencer with a winning time of 3:51.39.  Weatherford also defended her state championship title earning her second straight crown in the 300 meter low hurdles with a time of 43.55, and took second in the 100 meter high hurdles.


Warren Central senior Ebony Wright and sophomore Logan Hayes combined to lead the Warriors with individual state titles and a relay victory.  Wright earned her first championship crown in the 200 meter dash with a winning time of 25.16, narrowly defeating Pike senior Erica Campbell by 1/100th of second (25.17).   Both Wright and Hayes helped pace Warren Central’s 400 meter relay team with the help of sophomores Brianna Aikens and Brionna Harrison to a state title (46.94).  Hayes also fended off Park Tudor’s defending three time state champion Hannah Farley to claim her first state title in the 400 meter dash with a winning time of 54.53. 


Pendleton Heights junior Ellie McCardwell set a new state meet record in the pole vault by soaring to 13-6.25, eclipsing the previous state mark of 13-6 set by Katie Veith from Homestead in 2006.  McCardwell posted one of the nation’s top vaults of the year, 13-5, towards the end of the regular season.


Junior Ellie Tidman of Batesville cleared 5-8 in the high jump to claim her third straight state title.  Tidman becomes just the second girls high jumper to win the event three times.


Hamilton Southeastern senior Paige Smith heaved the discus 146-0 to earn her first state title, a first in the event for the Royals.  Senior teammate Portia Bailey also took home her first state title in the 100 meter high hurdles, just edging Lawrence North’s Stacia Weatherford, with a time of 14.65.


In the 100 meter dash, Jeffersonville junior Shanice Gholson edged Warren Central’s Ebony Wright for her first title with a time of 12.14.


Merrillville senior Rebecca Neville leaped 19-1.75 in the long jump to out distance three time defending champion Erynn Young of Muncie Central.  It was Neville’s first state title and a first for Merrillville in the event.


In the 800 meter run, Park Tudor sophomore Abby Farley blazed past the competition to finish first with a time of 2:12.42.


Kate DeSimone of Fort Wayne Canterbury took the state title in the 1600 meter run coming in at 4:56.98. 


Valparaiso senior Megan Ranegar claimed her first state title in the 3200 meter run with a winning time of 10:43.45.








Members of the IHSAA Executive Committee announced Hannah Farley of Park Tudor High School as the winner of this year’s Mental Attitude Award in Girls Track and Field.


Farley is a three time state champion in the 400 meter dash, and took second in the event at today’s state finals.  She was named to First Team All-State Track and Field, Academic All-Conference in soccer and basketball, and the 2009 Park Tudor Female Athlete of the Year.  She currently holds many school track records at Park Tudor high school including; the 100, 200, and 400 meter dash, as well as the 1600 and 3200 meter relays.


Academically, Farley scored an impressive 1970 on the SAT, carries a 3.956 GPA, was inducted into the Park Tudor Cum Laude Society, and is an AP Scholar.  She is the recipient of the Dennis T. Hollings Memorial Scholarship, Smith Book Award, Joy Boaz Hurt Instrumental Scholarship, Marion County Female Athlete of the Year award, and NFHS Outstanding Contribution to Sport award.


Farley will attend Stanford University on scholarship.  Hannah is the daughter of Tim and Diane Farley of Indianapolis.


Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, the proud corporate partner of all IHSAA tournaments, presented a $1,000 scholarship to Park Tudor in Farley’s name.


State Champions

Pole Vault – Ellie McCardwell, 11, Pendleton Heights, 13-06.25.  State Meet Record

Long Jump – Rebecca Neville, 12, Merrillville, 19-01.75.

Discus – Paige Smith, 12, Hamilton Southeastern, 146-0.

High Jump – Ellie Tidman, 11, Batesville, 5-8.

Shot PutTori Bliss, 10, Portage, 46-11.75.

3200 RelayCarmel (Sarah Bennett, 09, Kelly McCurdy 12, Ellen Taff 11, Alex Chitwood 10) 9:17.62.

100 Hurdles – Portia Bailey, 12, Hamilton Southeastern, 14.65.

100 MetersShanice Gholson, 11, Jeffersonville, 12.14.

1600 Meters – Kate DeSimone, 11, Fort Wayne Canterbury, 4:56.98.

400 Relay – Warren Central (Brianna Aikens 10, Brionna Harrison 10, Logan Hayes 10, Ebony Wright 12) 46.94.

400 Meters – Logan Hayes, 10, Warren Central, 54.53.

300 HurdlesStacia Weatherford, 12, Lawrence North, 43.55.

800 Meters – Abby Farley, 10, Park Tudor, 2:12.42.

200 Meters – Ebony Wright, 12, Warren Central, 25.16.

3200 Meters – Megan Ranegar, 12, Valparaiso, 10:43.95.

1600 RelayLawrence North (Stacia Weatherford 12, Antonia Franklin 10, Ashley Spencer 10, Ahlivia Spencer 11), 3:51.39.


Top 10 Teams


Lawrence North



Warren Central



Park Tudor



North Central (Indpls.)






Hamilton Southeastern



Ben Davis



Lawrence Central



Fort Wayne Snider



Lake Central