Charles F. Maas Mental Attitude Award

At the conclusion of the state finals, the IHSAA Executive Committee presents the Charles F. Maas Award for Mental Attitude to the outstanding senior participant in the boys cross country state meet. The award was named after Charles F. Maas by the IHSAA Executive Committee on February 3, 1985. Mr. Maas devoted a lifetime to the high school athletic programs as player, coach, athletic director and IHSAA Assistant Commissioner from 1973 until his passing in 1984. The recipient of this award, nominated by his principal and coach, must excel in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in cross country.   

Year Recipient School
1973-74 Larry McEwan Portage
1974-75 Robert Davis Fort Wayne Northrop
1975-76 Ben Schoffmann West Vigo
1976-77 Kevin Higdon Michigan City Elston
1977-78 Tim Mylin Wabash
1978-79 Dave Painter Heritage
1979-80 Greg Lambert Crown Point
1980-81 Kevin Leeds Warren Central
1981-82 Jeff Grove Bloomington North
1982-83 Todd Crosson Connersville
1983-84 Scott Schroer Valparaiso
1984-85 Jeffrey Wheeler Mount Vernon (Fortville)
1985-86 Brian Crumbo Floyd Central
1986-87 Brett Polizotto Valparaiso
1987-88 Pete Bieghler Plymouth
1988-89 John Panhorst Greensburg
1989-90 David Brooks Indianapolis Broad Ripple
1990-91 Jonathan Deal Ben Davis
1991-92 John East Silver Creek
1992-93 Brent Grogan Oak Hill
1993-94 Kyle Baker Anderson Highland
1994-95 Andrew Begley Westview
1995-96 Matt Seeds Fort Wayne Northrop
1996-97 Brad Bernhardt Ben Davis
1997-98 Matt Stout Lakeland
1998-99 Andrew Russell Martinsville
1999-00 Brian Dunn Franklin Central
2000-01 Aaron Fisher Franklin Central
2001-02 Kaleb Van Ort DeKalb
2002-03 Nef Araia Lawrence North
2003-04 Rob Grote Batesville
2004-05 Ryan Berne North Harrison
2005-06 Brock Hagerman Pendleton Heights
2006-07 Curtis Carr Brown County
2007-08 Sean Wilson Franklin
2008-09 Dylan Sorensen Zionsville
2009-10 David Osborn Chesterton
2010-11 Kyle Overway Logansport
2011-12 Ahmad Aljobeh Valparaiso
2012-13  Charlie Watson Carmel
2013-14  Robert Browning  Carmel 
2014-15  Zack Snider  Brebeuf Jesuit
2015-16  Ben Veatch Carmel
2016-17  Curtis Eckstein Oldenburg Academy
2017-18  Connor Goetz Carroll (Fort Wayne)
2018-19  Quinn Gallagher  Guerin Catholic 
2019-20 Luke Combs Lapel