Herman F. Keller Mental Attitude Award

The IHSAA Executive Committee awards the Herman F. Keller Award for Mental Attitude to an outstanding senior participant in the Boys Swimming and Diving State Finals. The award, named in honor of the former IHSAA assistant commissioner in 1974, is annually presented to the outstanding senior participant who demonstrated excellence in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in swimming and diving. Each recipient was nominated by his principal and coach.  From 1989 to 2013, over $825,000 in college scholarships were presented by Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance to deserving high school students in Indiana. 

Year Recipient School
1969-70 Bill Armstrong Bloomington
1970-71 John Deppe Bloomington
1971-72 David R. White Elkhart
1972-73 Scott Jessup South Bend Jackson
1973-74 Mark Mamula South Bend Clay
1974-75 Bruce Young Decatur Central
1975-76 Michael Slowey South Bend Adams
1976-77 Kenneth Lohmann West Lafayette
1977-78 Jay Risley Ben Davis
1978-79 Curt Reynolds Warren Central
1979-80 Craig McCarron Valparaiso
1980-81 Doug Elenz Michigan City Elston
1981-82 Doug Heinz Munster
1982-83 Clayton Miller Muncie Northside
1983-84 Thomas McCann Michigan City Elston
1984-85 Bob Morrison Jay County
1985-86 Andy McVey Beech Grove
1986-87 Brad Toothaker South Bend Riley
1987-88 Josh Mikesell Crawfordsville
1988-89 Jason Gedmin Munster
1989-90 Timothy Bower Fort Wayne Snider
1990-91 Steve Alexander Anderson
1991-92 Matthew Hinshaw Ben Davis
1992-93 Robert Rausch Homestead
1993-94 Andy Kryder Wawasee
1994-95 Dan Schultz Bedford North Lawrence
1995-96 Jason Fox Goshen
1996-97 Dan Barnes West Lafayette
1997-98 Justin Hoggatt Homestead
1998-99 Jeff Lee Munster
1999-00 Alec Sheehy Columbus North
2000-01 Matt McDonald Hamilton Southeastern
2001-02 Brian Hartley North Central (Indpls.)
2002-03 Ted Brown Western
2003-04 Adam Effinger Plainfield
2004-05 Joseph Retrum Hamilton Southeastern
2005-06 Andrew Bretscher Greencastle
2006-07 Spencer Osborne Hamilton Southeastern
2007-08 Kyle House East Central
2008-09 Taylor Sanders Bedford North Lawrence
2009-10 Kyle Whitaker Chesterton
2010-11 Harrison Wagner Brebeuf Jesuit
2011-12  Peter Lyon Zionsville
2012-13  Max Irwin Bloomington North
2013-14  Blake Pieroni  Chesterton
2014-15  Joe Young Hamilton Southeastern 
2015-16 Chandler  Bray Avon
2016-17  Tyler Harmon Zionsville
2017-18 Isaac Khamis Richmond
2018-19  Jacob Destrampe  Franklin Community 
2019-20 Jake Mitchell Carmel