2009-10 State Finals Recap

June 5, 2010

Ben Davis made it three in a row Saturday at the Robert C. Haugh Track and Field Complex in Bloomington.  In the 107th annual boys event, the Giants finished with 47 points, followed by second place Lawrence Central with 44 points.  Bloomington South rounded out the top three, bringing in 33 points.

The 3200 meter relay team from Ben Davis (sophomore Luke Brahm, seniors Amuanuel Medhane, Brian Allen, and Traishaun Johnson) set the tone early and took home the blue ribbon in the first timed final of the day.  This was the first state championship in the 4x800 for Ben Davis.

Junior Jarvis McMillian of Hobart became the first male in the history of the boys track and field state finals to win the 100 (10.69), 200 (21.48), and 400 (47.45) meter events.  Two girls had previously won all three events -- Olympian Maicel Malone of North Central (Indianapolis) (1984, 1986, 1987) and Arlaina Davis of Lawrence Central (1997). McMillian also becomes the only individual to score 30 points in a boys state finals meet.

Futsam Zeinasellassie of North Central (Indianapolis) was a repeat winner in the 3200 (9:05.96), capping a successful sophomore campaign; Zeinasellassie captured this year’s individual title in cross country as well. 

Bloomington South junior Drew Volz cleared 16-0 to take first in the pole vault.  His father, David Volz, was the event’s first state champion in 1979 and repeated the following year; he too represented Bloomington South.

A strong kick from Center Grove junior Austin Mudd propelled him to victory in the 800 meter run (1:51.01) while Carrmel junior Chris Walden turned in a time of 4:10.70 to win the 1600 meter run.

In a field comprised solely of upperclassmen, Zionsville junior Shane Mikesky picked up a win in the 110 hurdles in 14.12.  Bloomington North senior Max Tuttle was victorious in the 300 hurdles, clocking in at 37.74; he was the lone senior to win an individual event.

Juniors dominated the day’s field events: Lawrence North’s Brandon Muncie was first in the long jump at 22-11; Jonathon Christensen of Southmont took the high jump title at 7-0; Bloomington South’s Gabe Hull laid claim to his first state title in the discus at 188-3; and Kris Harley placed first in the shot put with a toss of 62-0. 

The relay team from Lawrence Central (junior Tyrennzie Burgess, sophomore Marciellion Gardner, sophomore Anthony Shelman, and senior Andrew Lee) took top honors in the 4x100, crossing the line at 41.41.  In the final event of the night, the Fort Wayne Snider Panthers (senior David Coley, junior Kendal Frederick, sophomore Shauntis Lewis, and junior Ethan Wappes) edged Lawrence North for the school’s first title in the event since 1982.

Members of the IHSAA Executive Committee announced Owen Wagoner of Carroll (Fort Wayne) High School as the winner of this year’s Robert S. Hinshaw Mental Attitude Award in Boys Track and Field.

Wagoner finished fifth in the pole vault and came in 20th in the 100 meter dash in this year’s state finals.  He was named captain of the Chargers’ track and field team this year, and also participated in soccer and swimming and diving at Carroll.

Academically, he is ranked 44th in his class.  Wagoner was inducted into the National Honor Society and was appointed to the U.S. Air Force Academy Honor Roll.  He is a part of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and is a worship leader for his local church youth group.

Wagoner will begin studying engineering next year at the United States Air Force Academy.  Owen is the son of Scott and Sarah Wagoner of Fort Wayne.

Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, the proud corporate partner of all IHSAA tournaments, presented a $1,000 scholarship to Carroll (Fort Wayne) in Wagoner’s name.

107th Annual IHSAA Boys Track & Field State Finals
Saturday, June 5, 2010
Robert C. Haugh Track and Field Complex
Indiana University, Bloomington, Ind.

Top 10 Teams

1. Ben Davis 47
2. Lawrence Central 44
3. Bloomington South 33
4. North Central (Indpls.) 31
5. Hobart 30
6. Bloomington North 23
T7. Lawrence North 22
T7. Zionsville 22
T7. Center Grove 22
10. Carmel 20


State Champions
Pole Vault – Drew Volz, 11, Bloomington South,  16-00.
Long Jump – Brandon Muncie, 11, Lawrence North,  22-11.
Discus – Gabe Hull, 11, Bloomington South,  188-03.
High Jump – Jonathon Christensen, 11, Southmont,  7-00.
Shot Put – Kris Harley, 11, Warren Central,  62-00.
3200 Relay – Ben Davis (Luke Brahm 10, Amanuel Medhane 12, Brian Allen 12, Traishaun Johnson 12)  7:45.59.
110 Hurdles – Shane Mikesky, 11, Zionsville,  14.12.
100 Meters – Jarvis McMillian, 11, Hobart,  10.69.
1600 Meters – Chris Walden, 11, Carmel,  4:10.70.
400 Relay – Lawrence Central (Tyrennzie Burgess 11; Marciellion Gardner 10; Anthony Shelman 10; Andrew Lee 12),  41.41.
400 Meters – Jarvis McMillian, 11, Hobart,  47:45.
300 Hurdles – Max Tuttle, 12, Bloomington North,  37.34.
800 Meters – Austin Mudd, 11, Center Grove,  1:51.01.
200 Meters – Jarvis McMillian, 11, Hobart,  21.48.
3200 Meters – Futsum Zeinasellassie, 10, North Central (Indpls.),  9:05.96.
1600 Relay – Fort Wayne Snider (David Coley 12; Kendal Frederick 11; Shauntis Lewis 10; Ethan Wappes 12), 3:16.31.