Ward E. Brown Mental Attitude Award

At the conclusion of the individual state finals, the IHSAA Executive Committee presents the Ward E. Brown Mental Attitude Award to an outstanding senior participant in the wrestling state tournament. The recipient of this award, who is nominated by his principal and coach, must excel in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in wrestling.
Beginning in 1985, the award was named in honor of Mr. Brown, who served as the fourth commissioner of the IHSAA from 1976 until 1983. In 1983, the IHSAA Wrestling State Finals Tournament moved to Market Square Arena. Previously, from 1966-71, the Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association presented the Harold F. Mumby Award to the state meet’s outstanding wrestler, in honor of the longtime Bloomington High School coach. From 1972 to 1984, The IHSAA Executive Committee sponsored the Harold F. Mumby Award for Mental Attitude.  From 1989 to 2013, over $825,000 in college scholarships were presented by Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance to deserving high school students in Indiana. 

Year Recipient School
1963-64 Rex Ryker Crawfordsville
1964-65 John (Randy) Goss South Bend Clay
1965-66 Larry Smith Carmel
1966-67 Mickey Janes Anderson
1967-68 Dale Barnard Franklin Central
1968-69 Warren Gamble
John Smith
Gary Mann
Franklin Central
1969-70 Henry Clouse Franklin Central
1970-71 Jim Cornwell Bloomington
1971-72 John Hobbs Indpls. Shortridge
1972-73 Norman Hudson Manchester
1973-74 Bud Palmer Muncie Northside
1974-75 Vincent Keszei South Bend Jackson
1975-76 James Runyon Elwood
1976-77 Nelson Almond Fort Wayne Elmhurst
1977-78 Mark Harbold Valparaiso
1978-79 Ron Baker Yorktown
1979-80 Frank Patacsil Logansport
1980-81 Thomas Doyle Franklin
1981-82 Glenn Glogas Jay County
1982-83 Fred Johnson Greenfield-Central
1983-84 David Locke Delta
1984-85 Craig Campbell Delta
1985-86 Lance Lantz Wawasee
1986-87 Terry Kissel Gibson Southern
1987-88 Matt Morin Owen Valley
1988-89 Matt Koontz Whitko
1989-90 Eddie Palmer Huntington North
1990-91 Jon McClain Western Boone
1991-92 Tony Roush Eastbrook
1992-93 Matthew Armentano Evansville Mater Dei
1993-94 Josh Hutchens Plymouth
1994-95 Tony Currie Adams Central
1995-96 Derrick Miller Eastside
1996-97 Jared Williams Evansville Harrison
1997-98 Erik LeBeau Fort Wayne Concordia
1998-99 Ben Faurote Bellmont
1999-00 Marcus Schontube Lowell
2000-01 J.T. Young Bloomington South
2001-02 Jason Cook Valparaiso
2002-03 John Sheets Bellmont
2003-04 Blake Maurer Evansville Mater Dei
2004-05 Casey Caldwell Union County
2005-06 Jeff Papiernik Fort Wayne Snider
2006-07 David Zimmer Angola
2007-08 Eric Galka Hobart
2008-09 Taylor March East Noble
2009-10 Francisco Porras Hobart
2010-11 Drake Stein Princeton
2011-12  Abraham Hall Bremen
2012-13  Luke Blanton Alexandria
2013-14  Skyler Lykins Franklin Community 
2014-15  Chase Osborn  Penn
2015-16 Jacob Covaciu Merrillville
2016-17  Gunnar Larson Avon
2017-18  Mason Parris Lawrenceburg
2018-19  Hunter Watts  Jimtown 
2019-20 Jacob Maldonado Merrillville