June 3, 2000

Carroll Stadium, IUPUI, Indianapolis

Carmel wins first IHSAA Boys Track & Field championship

Running in near-perfect conditions, Carmel won its first title in the 97th IHSAA Boys Track and Field State Finals by winning two of the last three events. The Greyhounds totaled 52 points to outpace runner-up Ben Davis with 40.

It was a state-leading 65th IHSAA state title for Carmel in 14 different sports. Guiding the Greyhounds was Chuck Koeppen, in his 28th year as coach. The victory was particularly poignant as Koeppen’s son, junior distance runner Charlie Koeppen, won the 3200 meter run in 9:12.62 to clinch the state title for Carmel.

Senior Ryan Sarbinoff started Carmel’s victorious stretch run by winning the 200 meters in dramatic fashion. Sarbinoff was timed in 21.75 to nip sophomore Leroy Dixon of South Bend LaSalle who ran 21.76. Charlie Koeppen followed with a 5-second victory in the 3200 meters. The Greyhounds then finished second in the meet’s final event, the 1600 meter relay.

The individual winners included only one repeat champion. Leading the way was junior Matthew Campbell of White River Valley in the pole vault. Campbell vaulted a personal-best 16-3, a full foot better than his winning height of 15-3 in 1999. He made three attempts at 16-6 ¼, to break the 13-year-old state finals record, but failed to clear.

Senior Kevin Harrington of Indianapolis Northwest, who was the defending state champion in the 200 meters, captured the 100 and finished third in the 200.

Rocky Moore of Union County, who entered as the meet’s top seed in the discus and shot put, became the school’s first boys track champion when he won both events. Moore’s best of 180-6 in the discus was five feet better than runner-up Robert King of South Dearborn. In the shot put, Moore bested defending state champion Wil Fleming of Bloomington North by more than three feet with a winning toss of 62-2 ¾.

Daniel Martin, the defending champion in the 300 intermediate hurdles, placed second behind Chris Tredway of Carroll (Fort Wayne) who clocked a 37.68.

Roland Mays, a senior at Richmond, nipped senior David Lewis of Terre Haute South to win the long jump title. Mays jumped 22-10 ¾, while Lewis went 22-9 ½. Lewis, who is headed to Indiana University on a football scholarship, also finished second in the 110 high hurdles. Montrell Person of Merrillville was the winner in 13.96, while Lewis clocked a 14.13 in his attempt to win a second straight title.

The 1600 meters title went to top-seeded Aaron Fisher of Franklin Central in 4:12.00. A junior, Fisher also was the IHSAA boys cross country state title in 1998 and 1999.

Michael Taylor, a junior at Portage, claimed the 800 meters crown in 1:53.47.

The high jump title was claimed by senior Noah Shelton of South Bend Adams at 6-9. Reggie Nevels, a starting guard on Marion’s IHSAA 2000 Class 4A state championship team, took second at 6-8.

The relay winners were Ben Davis in the 400 meters, Warren Central in the 1600 meters, and Portage in the 3200 meters. Carmel finished second in the 1600 and 3200.






Ben Davis


Carroll (Fort Wayne)


Fort Wayne Northrop

Fort Wayne Wayne



Indianapolis Northwest



South Bend LaSalle


Lawrence North


Franklin Central

Union County


Evansville Reitz


Fort Wayne Concordia




Fort Wayne South Side


Bloomington North

Terre Haute South






Warren Central




Hammond Gavit

South Bend Adams

White River Valley






110 High Hurdles

Montrell Person, Merrillville, 13.96.

300 Intermediate Hurdles

Chris Tredway, Carroll (Fort Wayne), 37.68

100 Meters

Kevin Harrington, Indianapolis Northwest, 10.77

200 Meters

Ryan Sarbinoff, Carmel, 21.75

400 Meters

Gustin Smith, Fort Wayne Concordia, 47.65

800 Meters

Michael Taylor, Portage, 1:53.47

1600 Meters

Aaron Fisher, Franklin Central, 4:12.0

3200 Meters

Charlie Koeppen, Carmel, 9:12.62

400 Relay

Ben Davis, 41.60

1600 Relay

Warren Centrral, 3:18.0

3200 Relay

Portage, 7:45.65


Rocky Moore, Union County, 180-6

Shot Put

Rocky Moore, Union County, 62-2.75

High Jump

Noah Shelton, South Bend Adams, 6-9.

Long Jump

Rolando Mays, Richmond, 22-10.75

Pole Vault

Matthew Campbell, White River Valley 16-3


Roncalli’s Lawrie named Mental Attitude Award recipient

Nate Lawrie of Roncalli High School was selected by the IHSAA Executive Committee as the 2000 recipient of the Mental Attitude Award in Boys Track & Field.

Lawrie finished third in the discus and the shot put to conclude an outstanding high school athletic career that also included a Class 3A football state championship in 1999.

Academically, Lawrie ranks in the top 10 percent of his graduating class and is a member of National Honor Society. He was an academic all-state selection in football and track, and was named Roncalli’s outstanding male athlete for 1999-2000.

Lawrie plans to attend Yale University and play football with the career goal of practicing sports medicine.

The Mental Attitude Award is presented annually to the senior who best demonstrates excellence in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in boys track and field. Farm Bureau Insurance, the IHSAA corporate partner, presented a $1,000 scholarship to Roncalli High School in the name of Lawrie.