Indiana High School Athletic Association

9150 North Meridian Street, Box 40650, Indianapolis, Indiana 46240-0650

Phone: 317-846-6601    Fax: 317-575-4244    Website:

Blake Ress, Commissioner


June 3, 2005



Behind state championship efforts from a pair of seniors, Lawrence Central outdistanced runner-up Warren Central, 55-48, in the 102nd Annual IHSAA Boys Track and Field State Finals at the Robert C. Haugh Track and Field Complex in Bloomington.


Seniors Dwayne Brisco won the shot put and Will Glover the 100 meters to lead Lawrence Central to the school’s second state championship in the sport. The Bears, coached by Mike Holman both years, also won the title in 1998.


Brisco took the shot put with a heave of 60-3.5, while Glover’s time of 10.45 secured his state title in the 100 meters.


Rounding out the top five teams were defending state champion Fort Wayne Northrop in third place with 46, Evansville Harrison in fourth with 31 and Gary West Side was fifth with 29.


Harrison was buoyed by Bryce Brown, the meet’s only double winner. Just a sophomore, Brown took both hurdles events winning the 110 event in 13.83 and also set the state meet record in the 300 in 36.34. The previous mark of 37.43 was set in 1999 by Daniel Martin of Concord.


Donald Washington of Franklin Central missed out on becoming just the third individual to win the long jump three times. The senior’s effort of 23-1 fell short of the 23-2.75 put up by senior Sam Watts of Hammond Bishop Noll.


Junior Travis White of Fort Wayne Northrop, the only other returning state champion from last year, finished 10th in the high jump at 6-6, which was won by Ben Davis junior Jonathon Tate who cleared 6-9.


Southport’s Kevin Mauser Named Winner Of Robert S. Hinshaw Mental Attitude Award

Members of the IHSAA Executive Committee selected Kevin Mauser of Southport High School as the winner of the Robert S. Hinshaw Mental Attitude Award following the meet.


Mauser ranks at the top of his senior class of 350 students, plans to study biomedical engineering at IUPUI and eventually study medicine at Indiana University.


Mauser is involved in the youth group at the Reformed Presbyterian Church, been a delegate to Hoosier Boys State and Boys Nation, president of Covenanter Young Peoples Union, Youth Group Leadership Team and Vice President of the National Honor Society.


He qualified for the state finals three years participating in the 110 Meter High Hurdles, 300 Meter Intermediate Hurdles and the 1600 Relay. He also has played tennis for the Cardinals.


He is the son of John and Pat Mauser of Indianapolis.


The award is named in honor of the late Robert S. Hinshaw, the IHSAA’s first assistant commissioner who served the association from 1945-61. The award is presented annually to a senior, nominated by his principal and coach, who best demonstrates mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in track and field.


Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, the proud corporate partner of the IHSAA, presented a $1,000 scholarship to Southport High School in the name of Kevin Mauser.


State Champions

Pole VaultDorrian White, 12, Lawrence North, 15-9.

Long Jump – Sam Watts, 12, Hammond Bishop Noll, 23-2.75.

Discus – Eric Werskey, 11, Seymour, 184-05.

High Jump – Jonathon Tate, 11, Ben Davis, 6-9.

Shot Put – Dwayne Brisco, 12, Lawrence Central, 60-3.5.

3200 RelayCarmel (Evan Bardach 12, Ben Peterson 12, Robbie Granger 12, Tom Martin 12) 7:49.28.  

110 Hurdles – Bryce Brown, 10, Evansville Harrison, 13.83.

100 Meters – Will Glover, 12, Lawrence Central, 10.45.

1600 Meters – Andy Weatherford, 10, Greencastle, 4:13.42.

400 RelayFort Wayne Wayne (De’Andre Binion 10, Christopher Brautzsch 11, Keith London 12, Derek Washington 12) 41.95.

400 Meters – John Gunnell, 12, Pike, 47.83.

300 Hurdles – Bryce Brown, 10, Evansville Harrison, 36.34 State Meet Record.

800 Meters – Eugene Ellis, 10, Gary West Side, 1:52.38.

200 Meters – Scott Wims, 11, Fort Wayne Northrop, 21.52.

3200 Meters – Tim Sirbek, 12, Hammond Morton, 9:08.16.

1600 Relay – Fort Wayne Northrop (James Hopkins 11, Andrew Silkworth 12, Travis White 11, Scott Wims 11) 3:16.92.


Top 10 Teams


Lawrence Central



Warren Central



Fort Wayne Northrop



Evansville Harrison



Gary West Side



Lawrence North



Evansville Central



Hamilton Southeastern



Ben Davis