June 19, 2015

Andrean Outlasts Rain, Jasper to repeat as Class 3A State Champ
A pair of rain delays didn't dampen the spirits of Andrean as the 59ers celebrated a 2-1 victory over Jasper for its second consecutive Class 3A state title at Victory Field.

With the win, Andrean (30-6) captured its fifth baseball state title joining three other schools - LaPorte (8), Lafayette Central Catholic (7) and Jasper (5) with as many trophies. Each of the Niners' crowns have come under the guidance of 36th year coach Dave Pishkur.

The first rain delay began just before the game was scheduled to begin at 7:30 pm and lasted 80 minutes. Three-and-a-half innings of scoreless baseball later, the second rain delay lasted 59 minutes with play resuming at 10:40 pm.

Jasper got on the board first in the top of the fifth inning on Austin Alles' one out sac fly to left field that scored Grant Theil from third. Theil had walked, then moved to second and third on consecutive bunt singles by Tyler Haskins and Craig Shepherd.

The 59ers came right back in the bottom half of the fifth as Chase Dawson tripled to the left center wall with one away. He scored one batter later tying the game 1-1 when the Wildcats' Cal Krueger threw a wild pitch to the backstop with John Albomonte at the plate.

Andrean got the go-ahead run on Clay Thompson's two-out double to right center scoring Joe Albomonte from second. Noah Davis had singled up the middle with one gone but Albomonte pinch ran for him and moved to second on Parker Huttel's sac bunt.

Kevin McCune (7-2) earned the win for Andrean in 2 2/3 innings of work. He struck out three and allowed one hit. Luke Jaksich had started the game but was replaced after 4 1/3 innings and struck out six. Krueger sustained his first loss of the season on the mound in 11 decisions. He fanned nine Andrean batters but walked five in his six innings.

It was just the second loss of the season for top-ranked Jasper (30-2) and coach Terry Gobert who ranks third in state history with five state titles of his own. It was the third runner-up finish for Jasper and the second loss to Andrean in the championship game following their 2010 matchup.

Ben Moore of Jasper High School named Mental Attitude recipient
Following the game, members of the IHSAA Executive Committee announced Ben Moore of Jasper High School as the winner of this year’s L.V. Phillips Mental Attitude Award in Class 3A Baseball.

A three year letter winner in baseball, Moore was all conference in 2013 and 2015 and is second in school history in career walks and stolen bases. In addition to his contributions to the baseball team, he was also the captain of the football team this past year and was named to the Academic All-State team. Ranked fifth overall in his class academically, Moore was a member of Jasper’s National Honor Society and graduated with a 4.6 Grade Point Average.

He is the son of Steve and Vicki Moore of Jasper and will attend Indiana University where he'll study Accounting and Finance.

The award is annually presented to an outstanding senior participant in each state championship game who has best demonstrated excellence in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in baseball. The award is named in honor of the late L.V. Phillips, who served as the second commissioner of the IHSAA from 1945-62.

The IHSAA Executive Committee presented a $1,000 scholarship to Jasper High School in the name of Ben Moore.