June 13, 2012

Stone Helps Rally Evansville Harrison to its First Boys Golf State Championship
With senior Sean Stone leading the way and taking the individual title, third-ranked Evansville Harrison edged two-time defending champion and No. 2 Brebeuf Jesuit by three strokes to win its first boys team title.

It was just the second state championship of any kind for Evansville Harrison, which was coached by Josh Dahmer. The school’s last title came in girls golf in 1989.

Harrison began the final round tied for seventh place and eight strokes back (311). Thanks in part to Stone, who birdied seven of his first nine holes of the day and stormed into the individual lead for good, Harrison finished at 311-300-611, three shots better than Brebeuf Jesuit (305-309-614). Brebeuf had been looking for an unprecedented third consecutive state championship.

Jasper, which was tied for seventh with Harrison after the first round, finished third (311-304-615) overall. Top-ranked Columbus North which began the day in first place struggled to a fourth place finish (303-315-618).

The No. 2 player on his team, Stone finished 71-69-140 edging Evansville Central sophomore Dylan Meyer with 69-74-143 for the individual crown. He birdied 12 of the 36 holes over the two days including five straight to begin the second round. Meyer held a one-stroke lead over classmate Michael Sharp of East Noble after the first day.

The No. 2 player on his team, Stone became the first golf state champion from his school and just the third from Evansville in the tournament’s 76 years. Robert Hamilton of Evansville Reitz won the event in 1934 and Jerry McRae of Evansville Mater Dei won in 1959.

Other Harrison golfers, all seniors, included Alex Turner who tied for fifth (72-74-146), Tanner Mandel who tied for 28th (82-75-157), Jordan Wildt, who tied for 53rd (86-82-168), and Mitchell Baker who ended 59th (86-100-86).

Indianapolis Cathedral’s Jon Williams finished third oveall at an even par 71-73-144, Plainfield’s Rylan Porter was fourth at 73-72-145. Defending state champion Tyler Ostrom of Warsaw who was attempting to become just the fourth repeat champion, finished tied for 14th with 72-80-152.

The 76th Annual IHSAA Boys Golf State Finals
June 12-13, 2012
The Legends Golf Club, Franklin

Final Team Standings
1. Evansville Harrison 311-300-611
2. Brebeuf Jesuit 305-309-614
3. Jasper 311-304-615
4. Columbus North 303-315-618
5. Floyd Central 308-313-621
T6. Warsaw 307-318-625
T6. Indianapolis Cathedral 308-317-625
8. Carmel 309-317-626
9. Penn 312-321-633
10. Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger 313-326-639

Top 10 Individual Standings
1. Sean Stone (12), Evansville Harrison 71-69-140
2. Dylan Meyer (10), Evansville Central 69-74-143
3. Jon Williams (12), Indianapolis Cathedral 71-73-144
4. Rylan Porter (12), Plainfield 73-72-145
T5. Andrew Havill (11), Carmel 71-75-146
T5. Alex Turner (12), Evansville Harrison 72-74-146
T5. Wilson Pahud (12), Brebeuf Jesuit 71-75-146
T8. Daniel Shephard (11), Floyd Central 75-72-147
T8. Jon Schram (11), Warsaw 73-74-147
10. Max Gagnier (12), Brebeuf Jesuit 74-74-148

Will Tenbarge of Brebeuf Jesuit wins Mental Attitude Award

At the conclusion of the state finals, Will Tenbarge of Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School was selected as the winner of the Fred A. Keesling Mental Attitude Award by members of the IHSAA Executive Committee.

The No. 3 golfer on Brebeuf’s team, he also was a member of last year’s state championship team and voted most improved by his team. He is also a two-year letterwinner in football.

Academically, he finished 23rd in his senior class of 204 students and will study Business and Pre-Law at Indiana University next fall. He is a two-time Indiana High School Forensic Association state champion in Public Forum Debate and has earned the level of Superior Distinction by the National Forensic League.
He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Harold Tenbarge of Carmel.

Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, the IHSAA’s corporate partner, presented a $1,000 scholarship to Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School in the name of Tenbarge.

The Committee presents the Fred A. Keesling Award to the outstanding senior participant during the state finals each year. The recipient of the award, nominated by his principal and coach, was determined to have best demonstrated excellence in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in boys golf. The award is named after the former long-time state tournament director.