June 14-15, 2016

Westfield Repeats as Team Champ; HSE's McAree Wins Medalist Prize
Players and spectators endured several weather delays but it was second-ranked Westfield and Hamilton Southeastern's Cedric McAree that emerged the champions in the 80th Annual IHSAA Boys Golf State Finals at Prairie View Golf Club in Carmel.

It was the second straight team championship for Westfield and third in the last four years for the Shamrocks and coach Jon Hoover. The team also finished as the state runner-up two seasons ago.

The Shamrocks held a four-stroke lead over second-place Hamilton Southeastern when the final rain delay began at 3:32 pm ET and made that stand up winning by the same margin finishing at 581 (285-296), the fourth-lowest 36-hole score in state finals history.

Westfield's scoring players included senior Johnny Deck who finished third overall with a 141, classmate Thomas Lewis finished tied for fourth at 142 including a 68 on Tuesday, junior Noah Shanteau ended tied for 11th at 147 and sophomore Andrew Lewis tied for 20th at 151. Junior Josh Kehl ended at 176.

Hamilton Southeastern's second place finish under coach David Young was the school's best finish ever at 585. Top-ranked Center Grove placed third at 592, Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger ended fourth at 605 and Bloomington South was fifth at 611.

Cedric McAree of Hamilton Southeastern led from start to finish and claimed overall medalist honors with a 137 including tying the Prairie View Golf Club course record with a 65 during Tuesday's opening round. He was the first golfer in his school's history to take home the top spot.

Center Grove sophomore Noah Gillard finished as the runner-up two strokes back at 139. After Deck, Nick Osterburg of Perry Meridian tied Lewis for fourth at 142.

Defending state champion Cole Bradley of Harrison (West Lafayette) tied for 11th after a 36-hole total of 147 (72-75).

The event endured two rain delays each day including a five hour, one minute suspension on Tuesday and a three hour, 40 minute stoppage on Wednesday afternoon after which the final eight foursomes were able to finish their rounds.

Muncie Central's Keegan Bronnenberg named Mental Attitude Award winner
At the conclusion of the state finals, Keegan Bronnenberg of Muncie Central High School was selected as the winner of the Fred A. Keesling Mental Attitude Award by members of the IHSAA Executive Committee.

Bronnenberg has been a member of the National Honor Society and Spanish Club at his school while also participating in soccer and serving as manager for the gymnastics team. Academically, he finished with a 3.8 GPA to rank 36th in his class and graduated with an academic and technical honors diploma earlier this month.

He is the son of Mike and Kami Bronnenberg of Muncie and plans to study Marketing while playing golf for Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW).

The Committee presented $1,000 to Muncie Central High School's general scholarship fund in the name of Bronnenberg.

The Committee presents the Fred A. Keesling Award to the outstanding senior participant during the state finals each year dating back to 1971. The recipient of the award, nominated by his principal and coach, was determined to have best demonstrated excellence in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in boys golf. The award is named after the former long-time state tournament director.


The 80th Annual IHSAA Boys Golf State Finals
June 14-15, 2016
Prairie View Golf Club, Carmel
Pos Team Standings R1 R2 Total  
1. Westfield 285 296 581  
2. Hamilton Southeastern 291 294 585  
3. Center Grove 296 296 592  
4. Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger 296 309 605  
5. Bloomington South 308 303 611  
6. Zionsville 303 310 613  
7. Evansville North 310 312 622  
8. Harrison (West Lafayette) 309 317 626  
9. Columbia City 305 322 627  
10. Homestead 314 317 631  
11. Bedford North Lawrence 319 331 650  
12. Indianapolis Bishop Chatard 327 330 657  
13. Vincennes Lincoln 332 332 664  
14. Yorktown 337 337 674  
15. Evansville Memorial 335 344 679  
Pos Top 10 Players R1 R2 Total  
1. Cedric McAree, 12, Hamilton Southeastern 65 72 137  
2. Noah Gillard, 10, Center Grove 70 69 139  
3. Johnny Deck, 12, Westfield 71 70 141  
T4. Thomas Lewis, 12, Westfield 68 74 142  
T4. Nicolas Osterburg, 11, Perry Meridian 71 71 142  
T6. Joey Ranieri, 10, Zionsville 71 73 144  
T6. Blake Vise, 12, Yorktown 71 73 144  
T6. Keegan Bronnenberg, 12, Muncie Central 72 72 144  
9. Joseph Weiler, 11, Bloomington South 73 72 145  
10. Jake Miller, 9, Richmond 72 74 146