June 12-13, 2018

Dwenger's Logan Ryan takes Individual State Championship in Playoff
Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger's Logan Ryan claimed a playoff victory for the individual title and the Carmel Greyhounds won a record-tying team title at the 82nd Annual IHSAA Boys Golf State Finals at Prairie View Golf Club.

Ryan putted in for par to defeat defending state champion Noah Gillard of Center Grove who bogeyed in a one-hole playoff held on the 18th green. Gillard had birdied the same 18th hole just minutes earlier to force the playoff after the two finished tied at 145 over the two-day 36-hole event.

Ryan becomes the first player from his school to win the individual title and first Fort Wayne player to win it since 1941 when Fred Link of Fort Wayne Elmhurst also won in a playoff.

Guerin Catholic's Ty Gingerich, Zionsville's Joey Ranieri, and Carmel's Clay Stirsman all tied for third place at 146.

Stirsman led the way for a Greyhound squad which edged defending state champion Center Grove by a single stroke - 601 to 602 - to claim a record-tying sixth state championship (Anderson) in the sport but its first since 1990.

The other Greyhounds, coached by Chard Reid, were Nick Dentino at 149, Cole Harris at 150, Luke Prall at 157, and Curtis Robertson at 162.

Zionsville finished third with 606, Evansville North was fourth at 619, and Penn rounded out the top five teams at 626.

Westfield's Andrew Lewis named Mental Attitude Award recipient
At the conclusion of the state finals, Andrew Lewis of Westfield High School was selected as the winner of the Fred A. Keesling Mental Attitude Award by members of the IHSAA Executive Committee.

Lewis is a four-year varsity letterwinner and was a contributing member on two state champions teams for the Shamrocks in 2015 and 2016 and a third-place team last year. He qualified for state as an individual player this year.

He graduated with a four-year GPA of 4.09 and was instrumental in building a family atmosphere including a year-round training program, physical fitness regimen, volunteer activities and study tables for members of of the boys and girls golf programs at Westfield.

Andrew is the son of John and Chris Lewis and plans to study Accounting at Purdue University while playing golf for the Boilermakers. He is the second Westfield player in four seasons to receive the award joining Timmy Hildebrand in 2015.

The Committee presented $1,000 to Westfield High School's general scholarship fund in the name of Andrew Lewis.

The Committee presents the Fred A. Keesling Award to the outstanding senior participant during the state finals each year dating back to 1971. The recipient of the award, nominated by his principal and coach, was determined to have best demonstrated excellence in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in boys golf. The award is named after the late long-time state tournament director.

The 82nd Annual IHSAA Boys Golf State Finals
June 12-13, 2018
Prairie View Golf Club, Carmel
Pos Team Standings R1 R2 Total  
1. Carmel 295 306 601  
2. Center Grove 299 303 602  
3. Zionsville 304 302 606  
4. Evansville North 325 294 619  
5. Penn 312 314 626  
6. Indianapolis Cathedral 315 316 631  
7. Hamilton Southeastern 315 320 635  
8. Brebeuf Jesuit 316 321 637  
9. Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger 318 327 645  
10. Floyd Central 324 322 646  
11. Noblesville 331 323 654  
12. Castle 328 329 657  
13. Evansville Memorial 335 324 659  
14. Madison Consolidated 346 335 681  
15. Culver Academies 338 350 688  
Pos Top 10 Players R1 R2 Total  
T1. Logan Ryan (12) Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger 72 73 145 +Won in playoff
T1. Noah Gillard (12) Center Grove 72 73 145  
T3. Ty Gingerich (11) Guerin Catholic 75 71 146  
T3. Joey Ranieri (12) Zionsville 72 74 146  
T3. Clay Stirsman (10) Carmel 71 75 146  
T6. Mitchell Davis (12) Chesterton 68 79 147  
T6. Garrett Willis (12) Homestead 73 74 147  
T8. Stewie Hobgood (11) Evansville North 79 69 148  
T8. Nic Hofman (10) Harrison (West Lafayette) 74 74 148  
T8. Andrew Lewis (12) Westfield 73 75 148  
T8. Clay Merchent (11) Noblesville 76 72 148  
T8. Peyton Snoeberger (11) Seeger 72 76 148  
T8. Austin Vukovits (12) Indianapolis Cathedral 74 74 148