Patricia L. Roy Mental Attitude Award

At the conclusion of each championship game, members of the IHSAA Executive Committee presents the Patricia L. Roy Mental Attitude Award to an outstanding senior participant.

The recipients of this award, who were nominated by their principals and coaches, must excel in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in basketball.

Ms. Roy joined the IHSAA Executive Staff in 1972, was responsible for girls basketball from the inception of the tournament series in 1976 until her retirement in June 1999. Regarded both statewide and nationally as a pioneer in girls athletics, Roy served on the IHSAA Executive Staff longer than anyone in the history of the Association.

Year   Recipient School
1975-76   Judi Warren Warsaw
1976-77   Teri Rosinski Norwell
1977-78   Carol Blauvelt Heritage
1978-79   Karen Bauer Jasper
1979-80   Amy Metheny Southport
1980-81   Susan Morris Chesterton
1981-82   Cindy Willis Valparaiso
1982-83   Jody Beerman Heritage
1983-84   Nancy Cowan Crown Point
1984-85   Jodie Whitaker Austin
1985-86   Tadji DeBerg Scottsburg
1986-87   Lori Meinerding Fort Wayne Northrop
1987-88   Sandy Herre Benton Central
1988-89   Sheryl Klemme Benton Central
1989-90   Shannon Cummings Bedford North Lawrence
1990-91   Carrie Mount Bedford North Lawrence
1991-92   Marla Inman Bedford North Lawrence
1992-93   Abby Conklin Charlestown
1993-94   Allison Lee Columbus East
1994-95   Julie Helm Washington
1995-96   Sarrah Stricklett Valparaiso
1996-97   Amberly Whitehead NorthWood
1997-98 4A Kelly Kuhn Lake Central
1997-98 3A Andrea White Franklin
1997-98 2A Abby Salscheider Bluffton
1997-98 A Melissa Cochrane Bloomfield
1998-99 4A Brooke Minniear Fort Wayne Snider
1998-99 3A Amy Zercher NorthWood
1998-99 2A Sara Schaefer Fort Wayne Luers
1998-99 A Kourtney Mennen Clinton Prairie
1999-00 4A Sara Strahm Ben Davis
1999-00 3A Katie Stroup Columbia City
1999-00 2A Lisa Hoppenjans Forest Park
1999-00 A Melissa Nifong Triton
2000-01 4A Shyra Ely Ben Davis
2000-01 3A Carin Benge Plymouth
2000-01 2A Rachel King Fort Wayne Bishop Luers
2000-01 A April Williams White River Valley
2001-02 4A Darci Rector Terre Haute South
2001-02 3A Jamie Elpers Gibson Southern
2001-02 2A Brianna Howard Southwestern (Hanover)
2001-02 A Lauren Bechtold Hebron
2002-03 4A Laura Gaybrick Perry Meridian
2002-03 3A Katie Gearlds Beech Grove
2002-03 2A Amanda Norris Shenandoah
2002-03 A Annie Morgan North Vermillion
2003-04 4A Michelle DeGeeter Warsaw
2003-04 3A Amber Jackson Brebeuf Jesuit
2003-04 2A Courtney Felke Rochester
2003-04 A Kristen Miller Tri-Central
2004-05 4A Isabell Rhenwrick Gary West Side
2004-05 3A Dana Beaven Corydon Central
2004-05 2A Kara Keesling Shenandoah
2004-05 A None  
2005-06 4A Lynn McKinney Castle
2005-06 3A Jennifer Balbach Evansville Memorial
2005-06 2A Nicole Roush Heritage Christian
2005-06 A Sarah Pease South Central (Elizabeth)
2006-07 4A Katelyn Boocher South Bend Washington
2006-07 3A Megan Walker Wawasee
2006-07 2A Kristine Hosinski Jimtown
2006-07 A Angela Boyle Oregon-Davis
2007-08 4A Danielle Havel Carmel
2007-08 3A Jessica Centa Plymouth
2007-08 2A None  
2007-08 A Aubrey Holle Fort Wayne Canterbury
2008-09 4A Skylar Diggins South Bend Washington
2008-09 3A Lecretia Smith Fort Wayne Elmhurst
2008-09 2A Lauren Meece Oak Hill
2008-09 A Kelly Carr Fort Wayne Canterbury
2009-10 4A Dee Dee Williams Ben Davis
2009-10 3A Angela Doerffler Fort Wayne Concordia Lutheran
2009-10 2A Katy McIntosh Austin
2009-10 A Tabitha Gerardot Fort Wayne Canterbury
2010-11 4A Ashley Lutz Penn
2010-11 3A Hillary Moore Benton Central
2010-11 2A Samantha Bane Brownstown Central
2010-11 A Shelby Davies Turkey Run
2011-12 4A Rachel Gregory North Central (Indianapolis)
2011-12 3A Lauren Marinko Fort Wayne Concordia Lutheran
2011-12 2A None  
2011-12 A Mariah Seng Northeast Dubois
2012-13  4A Carli Fields  Bedford North Lawrence
2012-13 3A Rachel Houck Mt. Vernon (Fortville)
2012-13 2A Brittany Neeley Eastern (Greentown)
2012-13  A Allyson Wehrheim Vincennes Rivet
2013-14  4A Whitney Wilson  Bedford North Lawrence
2013-14  3A Raven Black  Western 
2013-14  2A Natalie Orr  Heritage Christian 
2013-14  A Lauren Herman  Vincennes Rivet
2014-15 4A Ali Patberg Columbus North
2014-15  3A Taylor Trippiedi  Tippecanoe Valley
2014-15 2A Darby Maggard Fort Wayne Canterbury
2014-15 A Hannah Bullock Barr-Reeve
2015-16  4A Paige Littrell  Columbus North
2015-16  3A Carlie Burson North Harrison
2015-16  2A Cameron Onken Lafayette Central Catholic
2015-16  A Abby Wagner Jac-Cen-Del
2016-17  4A Madisen Parker Homestead
2016-17 3A Killian Mountford South Bend St. Joseph
2016-17 2A Taylor Drury Eastern (Pekin)
2016-17 A Brenna Maikranz Wood Memorial
2017-18 4A Maray Bell  Warren Central
2017-18 3A Sarah Vas Northwestern
2017-18 2A Calista Rice Central Noble
2017-18 A Megan Niehaus Vincennes Rivet
 2018-19 4A  Maddie Howe  Lawrence North 
 2018-19 3A  Allison Miller  Northwestern 
 2018-19 2A  Janessa Hasty  Oak Hill 
 2018-19 Grace Waggoner  Vincennes Rivet 
2019-20 4A Lauren Gunn Lawrence North
2019-20 3A Maddy Payne NorthWood
2019-20 2A Bailey Tucker Frankton
2019-20 A Chelsie Sutton Loogootee