Girls Cross Country Mental Attitude Award

At the conclusion of the state finals, the IHSAA Executive Committee presents an award for mental attitude to the outstanding senior participant in the girls cross country state tournament. The recipient of this award, who was nominated by her principal and coach, must excel in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in cross country.  

Year Recipient School
1981-82 Bipasa Bose South Bend Clay
1982-83 Carol McIntyre Carmel
1983-84 Paula Swedeen Michigan City Elston
1984-85 Sherry Hoover Woodlan
1985-86 Carol Gray New Prairie
1986-87 Gretchen Powers North Central (Indianapolis)
1987-88 Jamie Gorrell Woodlan
1988-89 Jennifer Culbertson South Bend Clay
1989-90 Kathy Bullard Southport
1990-91 Brooke Dilling Floyd Central
1991-92 Jennifer Warthan Bloomington North
1992-93 Jill Nace Penn
1993-94 Amanda Warthan Bloomington North
1994-95 Becky Jordan Carmel
1995-96 Courtney Adams Brebeuf Jesuit
1996-97 Nicole Nigh Lake Central
1997-98 Maria Harriman West Noble
1998-99 Nicole Williams Westview
1999-00 Lisa Nicholson Anderson Highland
2000-01 Robyn Detty Lawrence North
2001-02 Jessica Gall West Lafayette
2002-03 Cassie Hunt North Putnam
2003-04 Alissa McKaig Fort Wayne Concordia Lutheran
2004-05 Laura Carr Penn
2005-06 Jennifer Kulow Brown County
2006-07 Erica Watson Noblesville
2007-08 Alexandra Banfich Culver Academies
2008-09 Erica Ridderman Warsaw
2009-10 Dana Payonk Lake Central
2010-11 Kaisa Goodman West Lafayette
2011-12 Renee Wellman Carmel
2012-13  Ashley Erba  Warsaw
2013-14  Kelcy Welch Carmel 
2014-15  Anna Rohrer Mishawaka
2015-16  Lauren Johnson West Lafayette
2016-17  Rachel Anderson Carmel
2017-18  Katherine Modrall Brebeuf Jesuit
2018-19  Emma Wilson  Greencastle 
2019-20 Mykayla Couchenour South Knox