Mildred M. Ball Mental Attitude Award

At the conclusion of the state finals, the IHSAA Executive Committee presents the Mildred M. Ball Award for Mental Attitude to the outstanding senior participant in the gymnastics state tournament. The award was renamed in 1997 in honor of Mrs. Ball, who served the Indiana High School Athletic Association as an assistant commissioner from 1977 until her retirement in 1997. Among her responsibilities were the licensing and training of officials and administering tournaments in gymnastics, golf, tennis and soccer. She also served on the Gymnastics Rules Committee and the Equity Committee of the National Federation of State High School Associations. The recipient of this award, who was nominated by her principal and coach, must excel in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in gymnastics.  From 1989 to 2013, over $825,000 in college scholarships were presented by Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance to deserving high school students in Indiana. 

Year Recipient School
1972-73 Susan McLellan Lowell
1973-74 Pam Robillard Columbus North
1974-75 Julia Hudson Evansville Harrison
1975-76 Jennifer Cox Wawasee
1976-77 Mary Ellabarger Warren Central
1977-78 Karin Kemper North Central (Indianapolis)
1978-79 Dawn Jenkins Columbus East
1979-80 Kelly Enright Perry Meridian
1980-81 Mary Spencer Chesterton
1981-82 Karen Herendeen Leo
1982-83 Sherri Seger Providence
1983-84 Darinda Gres East Noble
1984-85 Susan Hart Homestead
1985-86 Cris Wagner Warren Central
1986-87 Rebecca Carter Fort Wayne Concordia
1987-88 Cathy Couch Warren Central
1988-89 Robin Loheide Columbus North
1989-90 Tina Meyer Warren Central
1990-91 Emily Keller Columbus East
1991-92 Gina Massuda Valparaiso
1992-93 Kristi Edmondson Plainfield
1993-94 Jennifer Bryan Merrillville
1994-95 Danielle Clow Columbus East
1995-96 Laura Szczepanski Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger
1996-97 Rachel Nay Columbus East
1997-98 Julie Houston Columbus East
1998-99 Erin Jennings Richmond
1999-00 Heather Blevins Blue River Valley
2000-01 Katie Dyer Merrillville
2001-02 Carrie Best Angola
2002-03 Lauren West Chesterton
2003-04 Rebekah Porter Valparaiso
2004-05 Natalie Hesler Center Grove
2005-06 Jeanna Glick Fort Wayne Snider
2006-07 Martina Buchholz Crown Point
2007-08 Amy Albright Noblesville
2008-09 Alicia Roche Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger
2009-10 Cassandra Funcheon Columbus North
2010-11 Samantha Wilburn Chesterton
2011-12  Cassandra & Kaitlyn Schultheis Roncalli 
2012-13  Chelsea Wieland Columbus North
2013-14  Alex Nickel  Angola
2014-15  Madison Moore  Homestead 
2015-16  Katrina May Columbus North
2016-17  Ashley Holliday Columbus North
2017-18  Claire Thompson Columbus North
2018-19  Jordan Bush  Chesterton