Girls Swimming & Diving Mental Attitude Award Recipients

At the conclusion of the state finals, the IHSAA Executive Committee presents the Mental Attitude Award to the outstanding senior participant in the swimming and diving state tournament. The recipient of this award, who was nominated by her principal and coach, must excel in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in swimming and diving.  From 1989 to 2013, over $825,000 in college scholarships were presented by Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance to deserving high school students in Indiana. 

Year Name School
1974-75 Pat Lapham North Central (Indianapolis)
1975-76 Carol Bartholomew Valparaiso
1976-77 Debra McFadyen Kokomo Haworth
1977-78 Mara Hagan Terre Haute South
1978-79 Elizabeth Ashburn Ben Davis
1979-80 Julie Trudgen North Central (Indianapolis)
1980-81 Jane Coontz Castle
1981-82 Sherry Cartwright Harrison (West Lafayette)
1982-83 Laura Ashburn Ben Davis
1983-84 Pamela Hayden Columbus East
1984-85 Debbie Daniel Anderson
1985-86 Jenny Turnock Elkhart Central
1986-87 Tricia Berger Jasper
1987-88 Heidi Hendricks Logansport
1988-89 Angela Todt Elkhart Central
1989-90 Ginger Faerber Carmel
1990-91 Allison Bock Lafayette Jefferson
1991-92 Carrie Keckley South Bend St. Joseph’s
1992-93 Kirsten Johnson Valparaiso
1993-94 Danielle Biggs New Albany
1994-95 Lindsay Benko Elkhart Central
1995-96 Emily Ayers Carmel
1996-97 Melissa Sugar Evansville Day
1997-98 Maureen Hillenmeyer Westfield
1998-99 Michala Kwasny Fort Wayne Snider
1999-00 Brooke Taflinger Kokomo
2000-01 Jenni Anderson Chesterton
2001-02 Kristy Siminski Portage
2002-03 Katie Robinson South Dearborn
2003-04 Erin Sparks Carmel
2004-05 Christine Shehorn North Central (Indianapolis)
2005-06 Brittney Feldman Indianapolis Broad Ripple
2006-07 Kayla Sergesketter Jasper
2007-08 Emily Schroeder Hamilton Southeastern
2008-09 Jessica Hammes Carmel
2009-10 Kait Flederbach Westfield
2010-11 Carly Marshall Carmel
2011-12  Abby Smith Franklin Community
2012-13  Lacey Locke  Carmel 
2013-14  Alex Cleveland Zionsville
2014-15  Lillia King Evansville Reitz 
2015-16  Claire Adams Carmel
2016-17  Lauryn Parrish Fishers
2017-18  Alexandra Bader  Jay County 
2018-19 Rachel Schiffli  Franklin Central