June 6, 2015

Irby Anchors Pike to State Championship
Pike sophomore sprinter Lynna Irby won the 100, 200 and 400 events for the second year in a row helping the Red Devils capture the IHSAA girls track and field state championship for the second time in four years.

Those 30 points obviously went a long way toward Pike's overall total of 50 edging runner-up Warren Central (48) and third-place West Lafayette (42) at the Robert C. Haugh Track & Field Complex in Bloomington. It was the second state championship in four years and third overall for coach DeDee Nathan's team, which also finished as the runner-up a year ago.

Irby broke the 100 meter state record in 11.50 eclipsing the 11.52 set by Maicel Malone in 1986 and one of three sprint records held by the former Olympian. Irby also earned first place medals in the 200 meters (24.23) and 400 meters (54.73), and anchored Pike’s third place 1600 M Relay team. This is the second consecutive year that Irby has swept the three individual sprint races.

Senior Anna Rohrer of Mishawaka broke her own state record in the 3200 M with a time of 10:11.20. She also finished first in the 1600 M (4:52.09) to help Mishawaka earn a spot in the top 10 in team points. Rohrer is also a two-time state champion in cross country as well.

While Rohrer and Irby had impressive nights, they were not the only repeat champions. Yamani Hunter, a senior from Evansville Bosse, kept her state title in the long jump with an effort of 19-08.50. Meanwhile, the West Lafayette 3200 relay (8:58.72) and the Fort Wayne Northrop 1600 relay (3:49.11) teams also finished first in their respective events for the second consecutive seasons.

The official attendance for Saturday’s event was 4,663 for a two-day total at 9,456.

42nd Annual IHSAA Girls Track & Field State Finals
Robert C. Haugh Track & Field Complex, Bloomington
June 6, 2015
Top 10 Teams
1. Pike 50
2. Warren Central 48
3. West Lafayette 42
4. Fort Wayne Northrop 31
T5. Ben Davis 27
T5. Carmel 27
7. Avon 25
8. Mishawaka 22
9. Bloomington South 21
10. Evansville Reitz Memorial 20

State Champions
3200 Relay: West Lafayette (Itoro Udo-Imeh 9, Kristen Johnson 11, Lauren Johnson 11, Susan Hubbard 12) 8:58.72.
100 Meters: Lynna Irby, 10, Pike, 11.50. State Record
100 Hurdles:  Caitlyn Redmon, 12, Warren Central, 14.31.
200 Meters: Lynna Irby, 10, Pike, 24.23.
1600 Meters: Anna Rohrer, 12, Mishawaka, 4:52.09.
400 Relay: Ben Davis (Sheniya Brown 9, Dajia Collier 11, Kyara Simmons 10, Ra’Von Woodson 10) 46.24.
400 Meters: Lynna Irby, 10, Pike, 54.73.
300 Hurdles: Keri Ertel, 12, Jennings County, 43.47.
800 Meters: Samantha Woodford, 12, Plainfield, 2:11.83. 
3200 Meters: Anna Rohrer, 12, Mishawaka, 10:11.20. State Record 
1600 Relay:  Fort Wayne Northrop (Kyara Muhammad 10, Breanna Phillips 10, Cierra Weemes 11, Amber McGee 12), 3:49.11.
Discus: Kayla York, 12, Hanover Central, 143-3.
Shot Put: Victoria Farley, 10, Portage, 44-6. 
Long Jump: Yamani Hunter, 12, Evansville Bosse, 19-8.5. 
High Jump: Janae Moffitt, 12, Oak Hill, 5-10.
Pole Vault: Kennedy Trine, 12, Angola, 12-9.

Haley Harris of Carmel named Mental Attitude Winner
Members of the IHSAA Executive Committee named Haley Harris of Carmel High School as the winner of this year’s Mental Attitude Award in Girls Track and Field.

Appearing in her second consecutive Track and Field State Finals, Harris medaled in all three events that she participated in. She finished third in the 800 meters (2:13.10) and sixth in the 1600 meters (4:56.79). She was also a member of the Greyhounds’ 3200 relay team that placed second in the state finals with a time of 9:02.22.

Harris is an active student-athlete at Carmel as she has been a member of the Greyhounds’ state championship teams in swimming and cross country each of the past four years, earning individual state finals berths in each sport each of the past three seasons. She is a member of Carmel’s National Honor Society, boasting a 4.0 GPA. Harris also has volunteered for the IHSAA’s Champions Together events with the Special Olympics Indiana.

The IHSAA Executive Committee presented a $1,000 scholarship to Carmel High School in the name of Haley Harris.