Skip to main content

Main navigation

Richard G. Lugar Award for Distinguished Service

Richard G. Lugar

The Richard G. Lugar Award for Distinguished Service is presented annually by the Indiana High School Athletic Association at the IHSAA Boys Basketball State Finals.

The recipients of the award exemplify the highest standard of professional ethics, sportsmanship, moral character, and carry the endorsement of their IHSAA member high school.

The award is named in honor of late United States Senator Richard G. Lugar (1932-2019) who enjoyed an unparalleled career of service to the City of Indianapolis, the State of Indiana, the United States of America, and the world. Specifically, to the IHSAA, Senator Lugar was a champion of interscholastic athletics and a loyal supporter of the Association.

A fifth generation Hoosier who left the United States Senate as the longest serving member of Congress in Indiana history, Senator Lugar was recognized as a gifted local and state leader, as well as a respected national and international statesman.

2017 – Richard G. Lugar 
2018 – Bob Gardner 
2019 – Lee Lonzo 
2020 – Barbara Wynne 
2021 – Tony Cook 
2022 – Mildred Ball 
2023 – Jim Morris
2024 – Carl Erskine
2024 – Rick Fuson