IHSAA NEWS RELEASE

Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc.
9150 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, Indiana 46260 • 317-846-6601 • IHSAA.org • IHSAAtv.org • @IHSAAI



November 2, 2023

Anthony Calhoun to receive Distinguished Media Service Award

One of the state's most recognizable television sportscasters, Anthony Calhoun of WISH-TV in Indianapolis, has been named the recipient of the 2023-24 IHSAA Distinguished Media Service Award for District 2.

Calhoun's contributions to education-based athletics will be recognized on Friday when Fishers and Hamilton Southeastern meet for the Class 6A, Sectional 3 championship. IHSAA Commissioner Paul Neidig and Sports Information Director Jason Wille will make the presentation.

A.C., as he is affectionately known to many, is the longtime sports director and main anchor at WISH-TV and has covered Indiana high school sports for 25 years.

Besides his daily reporting and anchoring, Calhoun hosts several highly rated shows including *SportsLocker*, seen every Sunday night on WISH-TV. During football season, you can also catch him on *Countdown to Kickoff*, the Colts pre-game show on Sunday mornings.



A.C. anchors *The Zone*, a weekly high school football and basketball highlight show on Friday nights. He also hosts *The Zone Extra* on Thursday nights which is believed to be the only weekly 30-minute show on television dedicated solely to Indiana high school sports.

Calhoun also originated The Zone Banner "spirit award" that recognizes the Best Student Section in Central Indiana during the football season. This coveted spirit award has helped generate passion and fervor among high school students on Friday nights for many years.

Prior to joining WISH-TV in 1998, A.C. began his professional career as weekend sports anchor/reporter at WTVH-TV in Syracuse, New York. He is a graduate of Syracuse University, where he received his Bachelor of Science degree in Broadcast Journalism. During his time at Syracuse, A.C. was named a Remembrance Scholar, which is the highest award given by the university.

An Evansville, Ind. native, Calhoun is a 1992 graduate of Benjamin Bosse High School where he participated in basketball, tennis and track and field for the Bulldogs.

This is the 37th year the IHSAA has recognized outstanding members of the Indiana news media from each of its three legislative districts for excellence in the coverage of high school sports. District 2 covers 28 counties across northern and central Indiana.

Previous Award Winners

About the Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. (IHSAA)

The IHSAA is a voluntary, not-for-profit organization that is self-supporting without the use of tax monies. Since its founding in 1903, the Association's mission has been to provide wholesome, educational athletics for the secondary schools of Indiana. Its 411 member high schools - public, institutional, parochial and private – pay no annual membership fee or incur entry fees to play in the Association's tournaments. A state tournament series is conducted annually in 22 sports, 10 for girls, 10 for boys and two co-eds (unified flag football, unified track and field). A 19-person board of directors, elected by member school principals, governs the organization.