

Chris Kaufman
President, IHSAA Foundation

Trip Lukemeyer
Director, IHSAA Foundation

## 2023-24 Board of Directors

Wayne Barker Superintendent, School City of Mishawaka

Tina Bennett Superintendent, Clarksville Community Schools

Chris Conley
Ex Officio, Principal, Delta High School

Grant Clapacs Partner, Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP

Bobby Cox Retired Commissioner, IHSAA

Philip N. Eskew, Jr., M.D.
Professor Emeritus, IU School of Medicine

Rick Fuson
President and COO, Pacers Sports and Entertainment

Joe Jordan
President and CEO, Boys and Girls Clubs Fort Wayne

Dr. Paul Kaiser Superintendent, Westfield Washington Schools

Mike Mossbrucker Athletic Director, Mooresville High School

Paul Neidig Commissioner, IHSAA

Blake Ress Commissioner Emeritus, IHSAA

Jim Sandgren President & COO, Old National Bank

Milton O. Thompson Attorney, Bleeke Dillon Crandall

Pete Ward COO, Indianapolis Colts

Jennifer K. Wilfong CEO, JW Land Management LLC RELEASE – August 24, 2023

## **Recipients of Two IHSAA Foundation Scholarships Announced**

The IHSAA Foundation and its Board of Directors are pleased to announce the recipients for the Sparks Foundation Scholarships and the David Cranfill Truehearted Teammate Award. This is the third year the IHSAA Foundation will award the Sparks Foundation Scholarship to a pair of student-athletes and the second year in which the David Cranfill True Hearted Teammate Award will be presented.

The IHSAA Foundation is proud to announce that James Cannon of Evansville Christian High School and Chenyze DeBerry of Gary West Side Leadership Academy have been selected as recipients of the 2023 Sparks Foundation Scholarships.

The Sparks Foundation Scholarships award two (2) \$1,000 post-secondary scholarships awarded to one (1) male and one (1) female IHSAA student-athlete who exhibit good character, leadership, and teamwork in the classroom, in competition, and in their community. Indiana native and Team IP Founder and CEO, Randy Sparks, created this scholarship to give back to his home state.

The IHSAA Foundation is also proud to announce that **Timothy Swank of McCutcheon High School** and **Mia Treber of Plymouth High School** have been selected as recipients of the 2023 David Cranfill Truehearted Teammate Award.

The David Cranfill Truehearted Teammate Award honors and supports two (2) student-athletes from IHSAA member schools, one (1) male and one (1) female, with a \$1,000 scholarship who exhibit loyalty and faithfulness by putting their teammates, coaches, schools and community above themselves. The award was created in Cranfill's honor after his passing in March of 2021. An advertising agency owner, a writer and a filmmaker, Cranfill worked tirelessly to promote the purity, passion and enthusiasm of Indiana high school sports.

Supporting education-based athletics for the next generation.