

IHSAA Unified Flag Football State Championship Records Book

State Championship Results & Records	2
State Finals Appearances by Team	3
State Finals Scores	4
Bobby Cox Spirit of Unified Mental Attitude Award	5

State Championship Results

Year	Champion	Coach(es)	Runner-Up	Coach(es)	Score
Indiana Farm Bureau Football Center, Indianapolis					
2018-19	Bedford North Lawrence	Mike Branam	Tippecanoe Valley	Jeff Shriver, Brandon Kresca, Kris Walker	50-26
	Grand Park Sports Event Center, Westfield				
2019-20	Mooresville	Tina Taylor, Brandon Lewin, Jacquie Ingle	McCutcheon	Cory Rush, Gina Bunch, Brianna Accinelli	60-44
2020-21	McCutcheon	Cory Rush, Gina Bunch, Patrick Muldoon	Carroll (Fort Wayne)	Alan Bodenstein	44-34
2021-22	DeKalb	Ryan Baker, Carol Fike-Baker	Franklin Central	Erik Godsey	45-42
2022-23	Brownsburg	Kayle Comer	DeKalb	Ryan Baker, Carol Fike-Baker	28-18
2023-24	Carmel	Jamie Stephen	DeKalb	Ryan Baker, Carol Fike-Baker	68-45
2024-25	Carroll (Fort Wayne)	Jacob Reynolds, Tim Hoot, Corbin Wilson, Vincent Bane, Brandi Leming, Tommy O'Neil	Carmel	Jamie Stephen, Ryan Liphard, Kate Scott	

Most State Championships

No.	School	Years
1	Bedford North Lawrence	2018
1	Brownsburg	2022
1	Carmel	2023
1	Carroll (Fort Wayne)	2024
1	DeKalb	2021
1	McCutcheon	2020
1	Mooresville	2019

Most Championship Game Appearances

No.	School	Years
3	DeKalb	2021, 2022, 2023
2	Carmel	2023, 2024
2	Carroll (Fort Wayne)	2020, 2024
2	McCutcheon	2019, 2020
1	Bedford North Lawrence	2018
1	Brownsburg	2022
1	Franklin Central	2021
1	Mooresville	2019
1	Tippecanoe Valley	2018

Most Runner-Up Finishes

No.	School	Years
2	DeKalb	2022, 2023
1	Carmel	2024
1	Carroll (Fort Wayne)	2020
1	Franklin Central	2021
1	McCutcheon	2019
1	Tippecanoe Valley	2018

State Finals Appearances by Team (Alphabetical)

School	Years
Bedford North Lawrence	2018
Ben Davis	2018
Brownsburg	2022
Carmel	2023, 2024
Carroll (Fort Wayne)	2020, 2024
DeKalb	2021, 2022, 2023
Franklin Central	2021
McCutcheon	2019, 2020
Mooresville	2019
Noblesville	2018
Tippecanoe Valley	2018
	Bedford North Lawrence Ben Davis Brownsburg Carmel Carroll (Fort Wayne) DeKalb Franklin Central McCutcheon Mooresville Noblesville

State Finals Appearances by Team (Numerical)

No.	School	Years
3	DeKalb	2021, 2022, 2023
2	Carmel	2023, 2024
2	Carroll (Fort Wayne)	2020, 2024
2	McCutcheon	2019, 2020
1	Bedford North Lawrence	2018
1	Ben Davis	2018
1	Brownsburg	2022
1	Franklin Central	2021
1	Mooresville	2019
1	Noblesville	2018
1	Tippecanoe Valley	2018

State Finals Scores

2018

Oct. 13, 2018

Indiana Farm Bureau Football Center, Indianapolis Semifinals

Tippecanoe Valley 31, Noblesville 24 Bedford North Lawrence 52, Ben Davis 17 State Championship

Bedford North Lawrence 50, Tippecanoe Valley 26

2019

Oct. 18-19, 2019

Grand Park Sports Event Center, Westfield Mooresville 60, McCutcheon 44

2020

Oct. 17, 2020

Grand Park Sports Event Center, Westfield McCutcheon 44, Carroll (Fort Wayne) 34

2021

Oct. 16, 2021

Grand Park Sports Event Center, Westfield DeKalb 45, Franklin Central 42

2022

Oct. 15, 2022

Grand Park Sports Event Center, Westfield Brownsburg 28, DeKalb 18

2023

Oct. 14, 2023

Grand Park Sports Event Center, Westfield Carmel 68, DeKalb 45

2024

Oct. 19, 2024

Grand Park Sports Event Center, Westfield Carroll (Fort Wayne) 44, Carmel 40

Bobby Cox Spirit of Unified Mental Attitude Award

At the conclusion of the state finals, the IHSAA Executive Committee presents the Bobby Cox Spirit of Unified Mental Attitude Award to an athlete and partner competing in the state championship contest.

An athlete, who was nominated by their principal and coach, must excel in mental attitude, joy, courage, self-advocacy, and commitment during their time in high school.

A partner, who was nominated by their principal and coach, must excel in mental attitude, inclusive behavior, courage, advocacy, and commitment during their time in high school.

This award, established in 2020, is named in honor of Bobby Cox, who served as the Association's eighth commissioner from 2011 to 2020. His embrace of the Champions Together project led to the establishment of Unified Flag Football and Unified Track & Field as sponsored IHSAA sports.

A \$1,000 scholarship is presented to the school's general scholarship fund in the name of the recipients.

Year	Names	School
2020-21	Casey Bane, Logan Smith	Carroll (Fort Wayne)
2021-22	Bryce Dobson, Maddison Linker	DeKalb
2022-23	Scotty Tienda, Carson Knox	Brownsburg
2023-24	Christian Butcher, Briar Hartleroad	DeKalb
2024-25	Joe Gasta, Hannah Pettee	Carmel



Bobby Cox